We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Top notch b&b”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Wow...what a great little find this is. It looks brand spanking new but it's actually a few years old. It's sparkling clean and very well set out. The owner is a delight who could not have been more welcoming or friendly. The room was lovely with big spa bath (which I enjoyed). And the bed was really plush and comfortable. Breakfast was a delicious continental style breakfast made specially and beautifully presented. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickybabeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
36
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here because it was so close to the Entertainment Centre and were very pleasantly surprised at the modern clean comfortable accomodation! Julie is a very friendly host and served a lovely breakfast! I would definately stay there again if I went to another show at the Entertainment Centre!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hysheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Chaucer Palms B & B. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. It was conveniently located and only a short walk to restaurants & cafes in Hamilton and only a short drive to the Newcastle Entertainment Centre, where we saw a show. Our room was spotlessly clean, modernly furnished and very comfortable. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Chaucer Palms for only one night - and will stay there again on future trips to Newcastle. The B&B is as stylish and comfortable as its website indicates. Julie was a friendly and professional host, with just the right mix. She was also tremendously accommodating about various changes in our travel plan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duronikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Modern utilitarian premises, with paper thin walls, noisy key entry, nosy hostess and a bed that was akin to sleeping on a rock. We selected this B & B based on Trip Advisor reviews. We especially noted the comments about the quality of the bed. Not so. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Guests do like privacy and the '20 question' approach by the staff from the time we phoned to book, at the time of arrival and at breakfast the next morning was intrusive and inappropriate. For example, at the time of booking, being asked the reason why we are coming to the area, is most inappropriate. On arrival, being disturbed when in the room and asked again what we would be doing that night , is again inappropriate. In the morning, the constant chatter at us over breakfast was quite frankly appalling. The setting does not lend itself to a quiet weekend away. The facilities are modern, but don't quite work. It's neither comfortable nor romantic. If you want privacy and peace and a good nights sleep then this is not the venue for you. On a positive note, it is within walking distance of Beaumont St.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dicey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaucerPalms, Manager at Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
> 2,000 stays and 99.9% guest satisfaction. Unfortunately it seems we can't please everyone, however we do try very hard to please all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Chaucer Palms was a great stay for my husband and I this week. We stayed in number 1 which was great for us, level, no stairs, free parking and just around the corner from beaumont st, restaurants . Julie and Peter fabulous hosts, greeted us with wine and cheese and lovely conversation. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. I loved the easy access to the dining -lounge room and we had friends meet us there which was convenient. This was a beautiful modern, large room with huge ensuite. Very safe and comfortable here. We would definetly recommend this place to stay. We have stayed in hotels and other bed and breakfasts in Newcastle as our son is at uni and college here but this surpasses them all . Will be back here for all our future stays in Newcastle.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieandKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Friendly owners, looked after our every needs. Room and bathroom were large and bright with natural light, comfortable and very clean . Breakfast was great and for dinner just a short walk to nearby cafes and restaurants with a wide selection of tastes. You must stay to appreciate the joy of this B & B

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Boulevard On Beaumont
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 59 James St | Hamilton, Newcastle, New South Wales 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chaucer Palms Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing