We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”

Uprising Kitchen and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Newcastle
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have visited Uprising many times and enjoyed my experience each time. Yes there is limited seating inside, but options are provided for outdoor seating. The open plan creates a great atmosphere, and allows you to see 'behind the scenes'. The service is friendly and warm, and the food was quick to arrive, despite the line out the door. This restaurant is most definitely vegetarian friendly!! The bread, tarts, and all other baked goods are fresh, perfect and smell amazing! All items from the kitchen are tasty and extremely well cooked/prepared. Overall I will continue to visit Uprising because of the atmosphere, lovely staff and extremely well prepared food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilymaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Overrated and Expensive”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went here for Saturday Lunch after hearing the buzz about this place.
Not impressed and world probably not return.

Had to stand in line for long time to place order. The only available table was just inside the door right by the long line, so I was sitting there with everyone's bottom in my face while my husband was in line. With only 3 tables inside, most people were straddled over a gabion on the footpath.

The menu is not very vegetarian friendly, and very overpriced for sandwiches, so only ended up having coffee and cake.

The pastries/ cakes on display all looked great. The loaves of bread started at $9.00??

May be ok for cake on a weekday. Don't think I will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reneeandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Order mayhem”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A pity that the first review is negative.
A small group of 4 friends for coffee and lunch. Coffee served and lunch ordered. The staff seemed busy but after 40 minutes our lunch has not arrived. Forgotten? Said that we would be served in 5 minutes. One of our party got a refund and left in disgust. 5 minutes turned into 10 minutes. The lunches arrived while we were having words with the manager. We really felt like a relaxed lunch now! The manager even tried to deflect the blame for the lost lunch docket, saying that we should have reminded them. Is this really the role of a customer. We were never asked if everything was OK or that we were being attended too. The staff were apologetic, but the damage was done. The cafe's ordering systems and food delivery are broken.
A rushed lunch and late for appointments. Very upset. I could not even comment on the food! To their credit we received our money back,without asking. The mood in the cafe was tense, with other customers overhearing our predicament. The Wickham motorcycle cafe is our preferred cafe. Some of our party will never go back. Second chance? Maybe?
Steve

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Baked Excellence”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Living locally Uprising Kitchen and Bakery is a weekend staple for coffee and either brunch pastries such as pain au chocolate / brioche / croissants or to select a delicious dessert from the array of tarts and cakes. Coffee is top notch and the selection of freshly baked breads is fantastic. Best to get in early on weekends (open at 9am) as there is always a queue out the door.

For those looking for lunch or breakfast during weekdays or on the weekend there is usually a range of sandwiches and light brunch items available.

Opening hours:
Monday - Tuesday: closed
Wednesday - Friday: 7am-2pm
Saturday - Sunday: 9am-2pm

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This Bakery had the most delicious tarts. We went for the chocolate macadamia and blueberry ones and they were just divine, you can tell that there's a lot of heart and soul in their baking. Coffee was really good too and the bakery had great decor and feel as the staff were more then welcoming. Their sourdough loaves are to die for as well! So glad to see these guys with a shop/ cafe coming from their start as a little stall at the farmers markets. Would definitely return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magnolia2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uprising Kitchen and Bakery also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Adamstown, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Uprising Kitchen and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing