We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamilton Heritage B&B
Ranked #9 of 28 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night with 3 people. Such a beautiful (old- fashioned) home, very nice people and they created a delicious breakfast for us.
The house is situated very close to a street with shops and restaurants. It is possible to reach the centre of Newcastle by foot, but it might take a while (recommand having a car).
We would defenitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last week on the way through to Armidale.
What a lovely home. I have never stayed in a B&B and was a little worried that I would feel uncomfortable in a strangers home. I needn't have worried. We were made to feel welcome and felt like we were staying with friends or family. We had our two dogs with us who were also made to feel welcome. We had a very comfortable bed , the room was lovely and warm and had a lovely roomy ensuite. Breakfast was made and served by a very cheerful host and it was delicious. Hamilton Heritage would be on top of my list of places to stay if ever we are in Newcastle again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

A group of us stayed a few nights at this B and B while attending a conference and were somewhat disappointed. We were warned that there were cats there and one of our number slept upstairs in the attic area where they lived. She had to move out (and sleep in the dining room and share another person's bathroom) because the cat odour (including the litter tray contents) was overpowering for her.

Breakfast was OK but, considering we were paying $95 and more per room per night, we felt that fresh rather than UHT milk could have been provided (which the owner admittedly did on our second-last day there). Overall it seemed that the cheaper "Home Brand" type option was generally used, which meant that some of the food quality was not wonderful. We also found that it was a considerable walk to the city and that, though there is bus, the stop is quite a distance away.

We all felt that the house, though lovely, could benefit from a jolly good clean and getting rid of some of the clutter (including sneeze-provoking dusty old dried flower arrangements) which abounded. Even the bath towels were thin and tired and apparently not a day under 20 years old - it really does not cost much to buy new towels every so often. The sitting room where we might have gathered to chat or read had two of its three light globes blown and was terribly musty and dusty. Moreover, on our first night there, 2 young fellows were actually sleeping in there so we couldn't go in there at all. We felt that the dreary discoloured old carpets needed to be ditched (there are likely to be wonderful wooden floors underneath in a Federation house like this) and all the furnishings dry cleaned or replaced.

When a couple of us voiced complaints about something like a saggy mattress or the lack of fresh milk, the response was along the lines of "Well, nobody else has complained" or "Well, if I buy fresh milk it goes to waste" - it tends to discourage one from giving feedback! Speaking of which - all good establishments these days encourage evaluation and this B and B should start doing it too.

So, it is a place to rest your head, but it is not the homely, atmospheric, "days-of-yore" type of experience that one might expect. If I come back to Newcastle, I 'd just as soon stay by the beach or close to town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comadrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamhert, Owner at Hamilton Heritage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We at Hamilton Heritage are saddened that you have this opinion of our establishment we know that in this world we cannot please all of the people all of the time. It is our policy to do rooms daily and we were requested by yourselves to leave your rooms alone, we did as you requested. We do not purchase or serve generic food items. We have people returning on regular basis because of our breakfasts, generous spirit and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Newcastle! It is in a very quiet street, a very quiet house with all the comforts of staying in someones house. It is walking distance to the restaurants of Beaumont Street and shops. Your hosts are very friendly and accommodating and our room was spacious and restful. We highly recommend this!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoginijuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My partner and I went there and we loved it simply amazing host and house was so homey. Breakfast was amazing too we will definitely be back there sometime soon.

Room Tip: Spa room or Kimberley room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jambo068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We felt it was like staying at home - it was warm and inviting.
My sister and her husband had pancakes for breakfast - they both said they were extrodinary.
There was even breakfast available for gluten intolerant guests.

The restraunts and shops of Hamilton are only a 10 minute walk away and the local hotel, a block away has a good 'asian' resteraunt.
Downtown Newcastle is a short drive away as are the magnificent beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Couldnt' agree more with other reviewers, this is a great place to stay when visiting Newcastle and Laraine is the ideal hostess. Wonderful brekky. After two nights we moved to Newcastle's poshest (?) hotel (paid for by the conference my husband was attending) and our room was not half as well equipped (at twice the cost) as ours at Hamilton Heritage. Well placed to get public transport into the city, which is well worth exploring, and so easy to get around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
2 mi away
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
Merewether Motel
Merewether Motel
#2 of 24 in Newcastle
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Heritage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Heritage B&B

Address: 178 Denison Street, Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $98 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Heritage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton Heritage B & B Newcastle's Family and Pet Friendly B&B, can be found situated on Historic Cameron Hill in tranquil leafy surroundings an early 1900 Californian brick and stucco bungalow with Stained glass Edwardian Casement windows original high ornate ceilings, large airy rooms working polished timber fireplaces. Short walk to Beaumont street famous for its smorgasbord of Restaurants, Cafes, pubs and shopping something for everyone, the Entertainment Centre is very close a leisurely stroll to the Premier Hotel for a delicious dinner and then short walk to the Centre taking out the hassle of driving and finding parking. Also short walking distance is the Tennis, Football, Hockey fields and just round the corner is the Broadmeadow Race Course. We are 7 km drive to the CBD of Newcastle Harbour and Beaches especially for the fur children Horseshoe Beach on the Harbour side of Nobby's headland with plenty of free parking.Our three en suited rooms are also air conditioned with comfortable beds so we are told by our guests. Breakfast of choice and time is served in the Breakfast room overlooking the private leafy garden which is high fenced and gated for the safety of both toddlers and fur children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hamilton Heritage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing