We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes time forgot, but a work in progress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yes time forgot, but a work in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Interestingly we read that the hotel survived the Newcastle earthquake and was a used response headquarters, the current owner is in the slow process of updating the hotel. It is perhaps quirky - and perhaps would be a great retro hotel if the rooms can be updated. The rooms are clean although the smell of air fresheners is very strong, fortunately we opened a window and went out for few hours. The hotel needs new linen, our bed was okay -what I expected that when we went entered the room, the single beds had been upgraded. We didn't order room service or eat in the restaurant - I didn't feel like going back in time and the weather was too beautiful to be in the restaurant. The reception gentleman was very helpful recommending a local italian restaurant for dinner and helped us with secure parking for our car underneath the hotel.
The location is great, but we paid way too much for the night however there was a concert in town that weekend. It is very close to the beautiful old heritage buildings and beach so we certainly paid for location. I hope they manage to do the upgrades soon because you would be better off at another hotel or stay out of the city area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
17
53
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Really disappointing stay for the money. The room was very hot. The glass sliding door was bolted shut so you could't get frsh air. The air conditioner was needed on all night, but it sounded like a 747. There was moul in the shower and stains on the bed sheets. Really diasappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex101056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The photos of the rooms listed on the Novocastrian website are very misleading.
The room I stayed in was terrible, there were holes in the wall and the room had a funky stale cigarette smell.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here in March 2010, having stayed at the Travelodge in February. Yes this place has seen better days but it is being updated & I would ignore all those reviews critical of this place written 12 months ago or more. The fact that it is being renovated shows that the owners are constantly improving it. It is slightly cheaper than the Travelodge doesn’t include buffet breakfast in accommodation fee but is much quieter.

The best thing about this place is its quiet location. You’re not going to have any thru traffic or morons hooning around in their hot cars in the middle of the night. We booked online & were checked in midafternoon by a less than enthusiastic receptionist. The room was quiet & clean with a view of the ocean. Some rooms would view the city, the harbor or back yards as well, depending which side of the building you’re on. If you want a harbor or ocean view ring & request it before checking in. This place represents good value for location, quietness, & cleanliness. If you want 5 star amenities for 3 star prices don’t come here but go & pay more for that elsewhere.

We did not try the dining room so we are not able to comment on their meals, but there are numerous places to eat in Darby St & other places in close proximity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We found the room well-appointed, clean and nothing was lacking in terms of towels, bathroom gear, dryer etc. If you want an ocean view (between houses below) make sure you're on the third floor. On the town side, which gives wide views of town, harbour and hinterland, choose second or third floor. The staff are perfectly pleasant and we had secure parking down below. The hotel is not shabby, run-down or dirty as previous reviewers have claimed -- clearly the renovations have been well done, some time ago. It's pleasant to walk down to Nobby's beach from the hotel, then round the point, past Noah's on the Beach and back. At Noah's we were offered a more expensive room but with no view -- this is a much better option for the price. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food, except that the room-service breakfast was on time and excellent. For lunch, try Rock Salt at the Marina - magic.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

I recently stayed at the novocastrian motel for 2 nights (sat/sun) . The rooms were clean and tidy(this is a priority for me) and i had a 2nd floor room with an ocean view. I was able to park my car securely in the underground area which i was pleased with as i had been notified that this is not always possible and may have to park on the street as it is a first come first served basis regarding the secured parking. The location of the motel is excellent...easy walking distance to beaches and main street. Overall i was satisfied with my stay, however i did encounter a couple of negatives. I found a couple of members of staff to be a little abrupt and unwelcoming.One gentleman in particular who was behind the counter at reception (as i was checking out) completely ignored me as i was standing there waiting to settle my account....he then proceeded to serve another customer who had just walked in the front door and did not acknowledge me at all...very rude. I also ordered room service (from the restaurant) ..i was extremely disappointed with the meal and did not eat it. (i am a chef). Despite the negatives i still enjoyed my stay and had a great time in newcastle and what it has to offer.Suggest that some staff should work on their customer service skills.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some staff attitudes and the inhouse restaurant food
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lil027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

There's something just creepy and wrong about this hotel. It's a little like time forgot it, or if your like retro it's like going back to 1982. The hotel's position is good if you like to be in the quieter end of town near the beach and baths. The views are quite good as well, and there is free parking and free wireless Internet (albeit at fairly slow speeds). The big problem are the rooms which are really tired, old, smelly. The general hotel ambience is also so muted and dreary that it's barely got a pulse! There is a dining room/restaurant but along with the rest of the hotel it didn't look particularly enticing - I opted for take-out KFC if that's any indication. The staff were quite friendly and I believe that there are some renovations occurring at the moment. In my view the hotel needs more of a renovation it needs an extreme make-over!

P.S. There was also a very strong gas smell in the public areas - not sure if this was due to the renovations but it was also quite disturbing.

  • Liked — Cheapish price, free-parking, position close to the beach.
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentTraveller747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Beach Hotel

Property: Newcastle Beach Hotel
Address: 21 Parnell Pl | Newcastle East, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly Hotel Novocastrian)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newcastle Beach Hotel is located in the ever evolving, historical east end of Newcastle, just minutes walking distance to two stunning beaches, Newcastle's hustling foreshore and boardwalk restaurants and is a 10-minute walk from the Newcastle Port and the Nobby's Lighthouse, one of Newcastle's iconic landmarks. If you're an early riser, the best way to start your day is with a trip to the Newcastle Baths,less than a ten-minute walk from Newcastle Beach Hotel. Beautifully situated along the water, the Baths are teaming with locals and provide a stunning backdrop for a refreshing morning swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Newcastle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novocastrian Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing