We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Way overpriced. over $200 for the night including parking and a rotten breakfast. Great views, Ocean breezes but make sure you have all the windows wide open because the inside of the building smells bad. Old 1970's decor. Car Park is a joke. Some of the staff like the old grumpy man are in the wrong business also. As others have noted, the elevator looks like a death trap. I used the stairs. There are many other places in the West End that are much better. Although they are not right on the beach I think i will stay down that end from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Newcastle Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as everything in Newcastle seemed quite expensive, however check in was not welcoming and the check out from a grumpy old man wasn't the best way to end a stay either!

Wasn't asked how we found our stay etc and cannot believe they have the nerve to charge $15 per night extra for parking on top of an over priced room! Yes the cost was $119 through wotif, but given the age of the room and the brick wall as a view this room should be priced at around no more than $90 per night!

Room itself was clean and tidy but the lift we used to get up onto our floor was rediculas, as the door weighed a tonne and the door slid back on its own so was quite a challenge to hold bags and door at the same time!

Think employee/owners need to attend a basics in customer service skills course or sell up and let someone that actually cares and has passion for the service industry to run the place!

Will never stay again and would not recommend this to anyone else. Only recommendation would be to spend an extra $10 or $20 and stay at the Clarendon Hotel or a like. Very disappointing stay and experience!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

considering I paid extra to get the standard room instead of the "older style room" I was disappointed with the quality of the room. Room was very tired and the bathroom was like something out of a caravan.
I'm glad was only 1 night and for work not pleasure. Wouldn't go back.
paid $159 which I don't think is that cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Everything about this hotel is very old, but service is friendly.

I had a corner room which had great views on two sides.

The bathroom is very old school and the shower is in the bath, and the shower head was at my breast level and i'm 185cm, so even bending down to wet hair was hard! Also a window above bath which you stand in front of and has faulty horizontal blinds with missing bits and holes in them and facing the street! (not for the shy!)

Make sure you eat somewhere else, the restuarant should not even open its looks and smells bad, they must keep it open just to say they have a resturant. Its too small a hotel to have a resturant of any quality, i walked passed it several times during dinner and no one at all was in there.

The Carpark is ONLY open from 7am to 9pm and you can NOT get a car in or OUT after that!! Also there is parking on street but is metered between 7am-9pm

Over all its a average budget hotel, make sure you are paying much less than the other good hotels in area or you will be disapointed.Its saving grace is that its kind of got a nostalgic feel to it and my room had a view of the sea. otherwise i would have scored it lower

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJHazmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken B, Manager at Newcastle Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Hello!
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Your comments on the shower over the bath, the height of the shower head, and in particular the faulty blinds have been noted. We’ll get maintenance on to the blinds issue right away.

Just a few things we need to clear up though:

* Our car park gates lock between 11pm and 7am. Cars can come and go at any point outside of those times, but we lock up late at night. Your vehicle is always accessible from inside the building with your keycard, day or night.
* Street parking in Newcastle East is metered by the City Council between 9am and 9pm all days. It’s free overnight. You can get an all-day ticket for approx $7 (coin or credit card) at the meter opposite the north end of the Hotel.

Thanks again for your comments, and please don’t hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We almost didn't stay here because the reviews weren't very good. But we needed a place to crash after a long day of driving. We required a car space and we wanted to be able to walk to the beach as we love Newcastle Baths (sea pool). The variety of brilliant cafes within walking distance are great. The room cost $138 for 4 of us. We had a view of the sea from our room (over some backyards) and all in all it was fine. Staff were 'original' but helpful. Only real criticism was the door to balcony didn't open so the room was a little claustrophobic unless we had air con on. From that point of view I couldn't imagine staying here for days on end.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellybluecoatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Parking: limited "tight" garage places available under-cover (otherwise paid on street). Need to wait for reception staff to open garage (among their other duties).

Lift is "quaint"/antiquated but adequate.

Rooms are motel-style but adequate. Few rooms with baths. Good views if ask for a "harbour view". Can be noisy from street.

Short walk to beach, local "places", CBD.

Food? Forget it. Dinner tasted/appeared to be micro-waved. They couldn't do a "blue"/rare steak- ?using sous vide.

Plenty of places within 3-7mins walking distance for dinner/breakfast.

The staff and their friendliness/helpfulness "make" this "time warp" hotel.

Oh, the guest laundry with washing machines and dryers are a "big" plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Friendly check in staff, lucky early check in so I got parking- then didn't move the car until checkout for fear of loosing our spot and being left with paid 4 hour parking on the street. Cigarette butts and beer caps on balconey- great view of the wall next door. Thin walls so 2330 entertainment was the fight next door then seronaded all night by their airconditioner.

Woken at 0530 by the bloke upstairs yelling at his kid to get back to sleep! Noise proofing sideways and up and down is none existant.

Don't use the electric kettle anywhere but the bathroom for risk of a fine for setting off the smoke detectors......haven't they heard of an alarm system that copes with that.

Bathroom???...shower over shin height bath, painted tiles with cracked grouting! Terrible lighting.

Living area- bedhead with chipped paint, no bedside lamps on ceiling down lights over bed. Only seating was 2 dining chairs or the beds.

Friends stayed at Chiefly Apartments for $5 more...got a kitchen, gym and swimming pool????

Only plus was that it is near the beach.......shame the water was still to cold.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 23 in Newcastle
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,027 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,467 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Beach Hotel

Address: 21 Parnell Pl | Newcastle East, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly Hotel Novocastrian)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $72 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newcastle Beach Hotel is located in the ever evolving, historical east end of Newcastle, just minutes walking distance to two stunning beaches, Newcastle's hustling foreshore and boardwalk restaurants and is a 10-minute walk from the Newcastle Port and the Nobby's Lighthouse, one of Newcastle's iconic landmarks. If you're an early riser, the best way to start your day is with a trip to the Newcastle Baths,less than a ten-minute walk from Newcastle Beach Hotel. Beautifully situated along the water, the Baths are teaming with locals and provide a stunning backdrop for a refreshing morning swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Newcastle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novocastrian Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing