We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a 4 star rated hotel”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This Inn is better than some hotels we stayed . We were given a twin room poolside at 3rd floor and surprisingly a spacious one.theres 2 shower heads in the bath.ironing board is a bonus.safe box ,tea making is available with basic cutlery and plates .coin operated laundry.
Hotel is connected to West league club with 10 dining options.my family eat there for 2 days since bistro and Chinese buffet is affordable .The chocolate bar is worth a try for a family of 3 ,it cost us $22. Breakfast buffet is $22 per person but if you are keen to drive 5minutes ,Mcdo and Hungry jacks is around the town.Free access to fitness centre.
The customer service is excellent we are impressed by their friendliness . Always happy to serve . Though CBD will take 8 minutes drive ,I will use these hotel again for the price I paid..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xplorer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It's great to hear that you found time to explore some of the great facilities the club has to offer.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Regards, Taneale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 367 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

we had arranged a bit of a family get together so had about 5 rooms booked . it was the ideal place for this as all the family could get together either around the lovely pool area or in the adjoining club in one of the many restaurants or lounge areas . our stay was very comfortable although some of the rooms apparently had a lot of traffic noise at night . the only complaint i have is there was no wifi & we were a bit disappointed at the queen size bed , i thought everywhere had king size these days . one other personal issue , i would like a rail to help get in & out of the pool & spa. overall though a very enjoyable place to stay , with great facilities .

Room Tip: rooms near the main road are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here a couple weeks back for a xmas party and we weren't expecting much from the Hotel, however we were quite impressed at the over all size of the room and the design. We stayed in a spa suite and paid a little more for the package inclusive of champagne, strawberries, chocolates & bath salts. Definitely a nice feel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Many guests are often surprised to find the additional facilities of The Executive Inn, Newcastle including the numerous restaurants in the adjoining Wests Club and complimentary access to Balance Health Clubs.

We hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I arrived very late and was greeted very warmly. Spacious room and clean. After 5 days in as many hotels, very pleased to say best breakfast was here. Home made beans in tomato passatta! For those arriving late or even early, food can be obtained from the adjoining Wests club.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D023604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hello,

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed The Executive Inn facilities and breakfast on The Terrace. With over 12 dining options located in the adjoining Club many of our restaurants including Chophouse Grill, Emerald Gardens, Trattoria eighty eight and Cantina are open till late.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Room was adequate and clean. Service from front counter was very good. would recommend if you are visiting Newcastle. Kids loved the pool. Meals at the club were ok, not exceptional, but passable. Handy location. All in all, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiknzoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback. Our guests are lucky to have access to over 12 dining locations in the adjoining Wests Club including the Chocolate Bar, family friendly Cantina Mexican, the affordable FoodCourt and silver service Hobarts Restaurant.

We hope that you’ll stay with us in the near future and have the opportunity to explore the Club facilities further.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Despite starting to show its age a little (missing faucet tops etc), the rooms are well presented and very clean. The prices are also reasonable especially if you get one of the special deals. The convenience of the attached Wests club with its multiple restaurant choices and bars is also a bonus. Undercover parking is free also. I'll go back (again).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hello Phillip,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback. It’s great to hear that you had time to explore the Wests Club facilities; many guests are unaware that we have many fantastic restaurants, live entertainment and complimentary access to Balance Health Club. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I travel reasonably frequently to Newcastle and usually stay here or its sister establishment the Gateway Inn at Mayfield Both are part of the Wests Leagues Club, and have all the club's facilities attached. The rooms are a good size, with separate lounge area, comfortable beds and relatively quiet.
Having access to the Club's facilities is a bonus, with a full range of restaurants ranging from cheap to more expensive. For fitness enthusiasts, hotel guests have access to the club's gym - you get a pass at the desk. There is also an attractive pool and for those brave enough to take on the traffic, there are free bikes with helmets available
Free off street parking is an added bonus.
If you are staying a few days it is well worth joining the Leagues Club - membership is cheap and gives you discounts on food and drinks, as well as accommodation, at all the club's facilities, including Wests Nelson Bay Diggers..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morewindOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic feedback. With so many dining and entertainment options mere metres from your doorstep, it's great to hear that you had the time to explore the extensive facilities at Wests New Lambton.

If you're feeling energetic during your next stay don't forget that all hotel guests receive complimentary access to Newcastle's premier facility Balance Health Clubs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 24 in Newcastle
187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $118 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing