We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Fantastic facilities. Good staff.”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place has everything. Attentive staff. Beautiful rooms. Great facilities. All those extra's we all appreciate.
Great car park, easy access, lots of space. Professional staff in luxurious foyer. Free bicycle hire. Ice machine and laundry. 2 pools. Nice neighbourhood. Not in CBD. approx 6km out of centre of newcastle.
Joined to club-wests. Full use of facilities.
Huge gym with fitness classes. Lots of aerobic machines. Circuit machines and free weights. Looked like 3 levels of equipment.
Food selection in club was enormous. All under one roof. Mexican, Chinese, steakhouse and fine dining. 4 separate restaurants. 3 bistro food styles- buffet Chinese, bistro and grill. Economical to exotic. Also cafe- cake & coffee and chocolate bar cafe. Large breakfast restaurant. Good buffet. Good quality. Didn't venture into but I gather- gaming venue facilities, bar, sports bar, piano bar, and large entertainment venue. Lee Kernaghen playing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank carliz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Good morning,
Thank you for your glowing feedback of The Executive Inn, Newcastle and the facilities of Wests New Lambton.
We pride ourselves in providing easily accessible dining and entertainment options for all guests, whether they are on a short business trip or extended holiday.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Warm regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just enjoyed a family get together ..all stayed and really enjoyed all that was in one convenient place..

Rooms great very clean well serviced daily .
This was our 4th stay and highly recommend the service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bali-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Lynn,

With such busy lives it's great to get the family together for some quality time. With over 9 family friendly dining locations on site, plus a lagoon style pool The Executive Inn is the perfect destination for a hassle free holiday.

We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at nice rooms, plenty of space in the rooms,nice and clean. Its adjacent a club venue and you can use all of the facilities including a great choice of restaurants of various cuisines at very reasonable prices. I stayed there for a recent business trip located nearby in the suburbs of Newcastle. It far exceeded my expectations for a suburban hotel its more like a resort. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Lidia,
Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your first stay with The Executive Inn, Newcastle.
With over 8 dining options on our doorstep we hope you have the time to explore these further during your next stay.
Warm regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Newcastle, where i needed to be close to the job location in the suburbs. Thankfully this hotel was quite close to where i needed to be.
I was pleasantly surprised, I stayed in one of the accessible rooms and it was very large and comfortable, no complaints there at all.
There was a variety of eating options and at very reasonable prices. It was much too cold to go use the outdoor pool but the area looked lovely. I wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Lidia,

We're pleased to hear that you made time to explore our many onsite dining options and that you found our accommodation to be both comfortable and convenient – what a shame it was too cold for a swim! Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Executive Hotel at New Lambton. This is quite a comfortable hotel but as it is quite large you walk 200-300 metres down long dark corridors to locate your room. The rooms are well appointed but a little small by the standard set by other hotels charging around $200 a night. The "service" is barely there although when I asked the girl who was on the counter at 8.30 PM if she had some decaf coffee sachets she said she was the only one on so she called security to mind the desk while she found some. She found them and delivered them to the room. A big tick there! My real gripe was when they took a C.C. imprint on arrival for "extras", OK fairly standard practice, but on handing in my keys I was called back as "we need your signature", "Why"? "In case your C.C. is declined." I was so affronted and made to feel like a criminal that I signed a sheet of paper and I am not sure what was on it. I have never had this treatment before at a hotel that claims to be 4-5 stars. When I got into the car my husband asked why I was upset and he said "they had no legal right to ask for that as they had a C.C. imprint" . Never again at this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the central courtyard as most rooms fron one of the 3 busy streets the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A colleague recommended this place. There are several options for food attached to the hotel. There's a ton of electronic gambling machines if ur into that. The food in the restaurants was satisfactory but Nothing to write home about. I'll give it two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-FL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013


Pros - The location, the club next door was lovely, great food there. The bathroom was modern and spacious.
Cons-. The women on reception were rude and unhelpful. The room was hot and stuffy, it was also dirty. The curtains did not close properly so was woken at sunrise. Was hard to find from the road. Limited car spaces.
Major con - The $200 holding deposit. One week later and we still haven't received our money back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mynameiself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 24 in Newcastle
187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $118 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing