We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting better.”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was expecting better.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013


Pros - The location, the club next door was lovely, great food there. The bathroom was modern and spacious.
Cons-. The women on reception were rude and unhelpful. The room was hot and stuffy, it was also dirty. The curtains did not close properly so was woken at sunrise. Was hard to find from the road. Limited car spaces.
Major con - The $200 holding deposit. One week later and we still haven't received our money back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mynameiself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    167
    46
    15
    15
See reviews for
93
110
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I enjoyed staying here. I broke my journey and stayed at the hotel twice, and so got to see 2 rooms. Both were equally good.
The hotel is connected to a club, and thus gaming machines are available. This is not a plus in my view, and I found that all of the dining choices were in and around the gambling area. There are far better places to eat in Newcastle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in Newcastle on a business trip and my client recommended the Executive Inn. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.
The rooms are comfortable and well equipped although I did miss the REAL coffee maker typical in US hotels. But the instant coffee they supplied was adequate until the real stuff could be obtained. Bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water for a shower, adequate TV channel selection. The only down side was the internet which, at AUD $59.00 for the week was a bit pricy and sometimes a bit slow. But it was adequate for e-mail and an occasional Skype call to the States.
Restaurant choices were excellent, from Hobart's (formal and excellent) through the Cantina (decent Mexican food) to the Patisserie (great sandwiches and salads, cakes and pastries to match).
There's also a casino, machines only, which was a bit noisy and crowded but may appeal to the casual player.
Parking is under roof and free to guests.
Oh, yes, and the front desk staff were some of the most pleasant and helpful people I've seen in a hotel.
Next trip into Newcastle, this will be my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulsefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My option is not good only from the evaluation of security staff creating a massive scene on not allowing 7 of us entry as we had been the the races...we are all around the age of 40 and the minute were dropped of by a bus at the clubs foyer we were told by 6 security guards that had not spoke 1 word to us that we were not allowed entry as we were too intoxicated...we were all shocked & disappointed as by 9pm we were all ready to have something to eat & call it a night...We were refused food or any entry at all in to this club...later that night we went for a walk to try to find something to eat and came across The General Roberts Hotel...what a nice pub,we were accepted with open arms but unfortunately we were to late for food...we had to catch a taxi to Hamilton and back to be able to have something to eat....I would NEVER stay at the executive inn ever again as the club facility's were the point of why we stayed...we were angry,verbal & in dis belief that we couldn't even have a meal...good on you The General Roberts Hotel you deserve all the credit not Wests...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NES555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stay at this hotel alot whenever i am in Newcastle. Its not very far from the city yet you miss the city rush. Lots of eating choices onsite with a gaming casino (Only machine).staff are very friendly and its close to the Newcastle Jets home ground if there was a game on.Rooms are not bad...would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collaroy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just came back from a short weekend trip to Executive Inn New Lampton (Next door to Wests Leagues).
The spa rooms - which have a balcony and look over the pool are very comfortable and value for money.
I am GF and DF so the breakfast menu did not allow for this however I was offered GF bread and poached eggs that were cooked on the spot for me - so thankyou for the hospitality.

There are many restaurants to choose from and special rates if you stay a Saturday night.
We did not use the pool area as it was a little chilly this weekend but my grand children stayed there a few months ago and enjoyed this area.
I rang up at short notice as we were only going to stay one night and the receptionist was very helpful and organised for us to stay for another night and then reduced the rate when we arrived.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short stay or stop over while in Newcastle.
It is about 15 minutes from Newcastle and Charlestown so you will need a car for transport.

Room Tip: Ask for spa room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collaroychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Where to start describing this pathetic excuse for a hotel.
My booking was stuffed up and we were given a different room to what we had booked online and what we required. Complained to uninterested and rude front desk staff, with no resolution.
It was Easter, so could not just go to another hotel. Asked to speak to manager on no less than 5 occasions, every time I was told he wasn't in but assured he would call me... it never happened.
This is either incompetence, arrogance or gutless. Regardless, it is just damn unprofessional.
Our room was not cleaned on the Saturday.
There were no parking spots available on the Saturday night.
On the Sunday they cleaned the room but they left us with no towels..
When I complained, instead of sending some to us, they told us to go to reception to get them for ourselves.
The coffee and milk were not replaced either.
The pool is cold and outdoors (no cover at all)
Couldn't get to sleep till late due to noisy drunks walking by our room at all hours and was woken up by noisy passing cars and trucks (over Easter... hate to think what it would be like mid-week)
Food in the club (downstairs) is dreadful, no matter which area you try, just tasteless and overpriced. There is no entertainment whatsoever in the place (just pokies) and again the staff are rude and lazy.
We found the General Roberts Hotel next door which has much better food and decent, friendly staff.
Stay away; this place is the absolute pits. You'd be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pananian06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,013 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Property: The Executive Inn
Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing