We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Executive Inn is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the docks (Cafes and dining) and Newcastle beaches. Newcastle is sprawling so this did not worry us. The rooms are new and very clean. We would stay here just for the shower head!! The hotel is attached to the Wests club with an excellent array of restaurants and bars (once again very new and no 'riff raff' seen!). Friendly staff topped our experience off. With free undercover parking as well, we would not hesitate to stay her again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level facing the street but we did not get any street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dankir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for The Executive Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 360 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Christmas and was more than happy. Big, clean room with two separate queen beds which were comfortable. Very modern and large bathroom, some are currently being renovated, but obviously ours already had been. Double shower recess with two shower heads and plenty of hot water. Lots of space on the vanity for your toiletries bag etc. There are quite a few rooms but noise was not an issue at all. Adjoins Wests Club, which can be accessed from the foyer. Bistro was open on Christmas Night, which was handy. All restaurants appeared to be open on Boxing Day too. Hotel has two lovely pools. We opted for the buffet breakfast in the dining room and although basic, is reasonably priced. Great place for families to stay. The suburb of New Lambton, where the hotel is located, has a village feel to it and is within walking distance.

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool area would be lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently styled here overnight between Christmas and New Year and were more then impressed. We had stayed some 15 years ago and the place is still in immaculate condition. We got a twin room to accommodate our family of 4 and the room was much more spacious than other hotels we have stayed at, the in room facilities were great, with enough towels, toiletries, pillows, cups and glasses etc. The pool area was amazing, plenty of places to sit, poolside service and 2 heated pools to choose from plus a bubbling spa. Being attached to Wests Leagues Club, if you wished to dine out the club could be entered via hotel reception which is handy...I'm not much of a club person so can't comment to much on what that was like, but no noise what so ever could be heard. We will definitely stay here again, and believe it is great value for money accommodation.

Room Tip: Pool View Rooms...Bliss..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronnyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Executive Inn for a night and the room was clean, spacious, had all the amenities one would expect and the pool and spa looked great. We had a great night sleep on a very comfortable bed. We were very happy with our room given how inexpensive it was to stay. Much to our dismay this morning we were woken well before check out to the sounds of hammering by builders in the adjacent room which was being renovated. This was especially frustrating as our baby was asleep at the time. Although there was a note in our room stating renovations were being undertaken (they had commenced in June) we were unaware of such renovations when we booked our room. I would have rated this hotel higher had it not been for this unpleasant experience.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Executive Inn after attending a Melbourne Cup function.
If you need to stay in Newcastle you could do a lot worse
Check In - polite and efficient, not particularly warm
Room
Bed - good with quality linen
Spa - as pictured
Shower - good with OK toiletries
TV - didn't test
Minibar - pretty good value for a minibar

Pluses
Very clean
Adjacent to Wests with multiple bars, restaurants and clubby delights
Wests members get a discount

Minuses
Reception was OK but a bit bureaucratic
Air Conditioning seemed to be set at either 'off' or 'cyclone'
Long corridors reminiscent of older style English hotels - one wonders whether one will ever reach one's room.
Breakfast on the verandah was reasonably priced but a bit passe and curling at the edges by 9.30 am

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJLBewdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the executive inn Newcastle for a couple of nights on our way south. On arrival reception were helpful, went to room and it was tiny but had everything you would need if traveling alone or on business. We had two kids with us so probably should've booked a family room, as I think they are available. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. The hotel is attached to wests leagues club which is handy if you were on business or wanted to see a show there. Plenty of restaurants onsite most of which are average fare, we tried hobarts and the Mexican. Hobarts is a worthwhile experience whilst the Mexican is pretty standard. Overall an ok stay, the hotel is along way from Newcastle and the beaches (situated in new lambton) which I didn't realize when I booked (didn't look either) room was very small and don't expect a view. Noise is also a bit of an issue, wasn't too bad when we stayed but Saturday night you can hear people returning from the club to their rooms. Would recommend as a business stay or if you are seeing a show as couple but not as a romantic weekend or family holiday.

Room Tip: Book a large room if you have more than 2 people.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderers9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

stayed here with a friend in a spa room.

spa was bigger than it looked in picture, very comfy we both fit in nicely. had a large separate shower with a nice powerful water stream the bed and pillows were verycomfortable, both of us had a gr8 nites sleep. cant fault the room. didnt hear any noise from other rooms, hope thye didnt hear us!

the verandah had a nice view over the pool, which we didnt use.
we were going to a concert at newcastle entertainment centre, if you wanted you could easily walk there but we took the lazy option of a cab which cost us less than $10, so definately convenient. free parking is a bonus compared to other hotels around town. honestly think this is one of the best value hotels in town, and attached to the club as well there is plenty of options for food as well as some cheap drinks.

one MAJOR drawback which i seriously think thye need to change and i hope management read this. the policy of taking a bond/hold ($200) really isnt good enuf. ive never stayed at hotel where this has been done. yes, a credit card imprint is acceptable, but i dont think thye should be putting a hold on your funds, particularly as there could be a wait to get them back. 3 days later im still waiting. if there was a way to refund the money immediately then yes keep this policy but if not it needs to be gotten rid of.

i paid with a debit card which i only put money on that i need. therefore wen i went to check in i realised that there wasnt enuf funds to cover this bond. i had to make a fone call to transfer funds from one of my accounts to this credit account, which was really frustrating wen all i wanted to do was go to my room. an imprint would have been sufficient. the couple behind me had the same problem.

other than that an enjoyable stay, have stayed here before and will prob stay again but really hope they change the bond policy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveholidays82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,027 reviews
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 23 in Newcastle
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $121 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing