We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER book with this company!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Executive Villas
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER book with this company!”
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My boss was going to a meeting in Wallsend which has very limited accommodation so I booked him into the Jesmond Executive Apartments which are only a couple of kilometers away. True to many other peoples experience He was put in a different place to the one I booked. The accommodation he was given was at the Adeena on King in NEWCASTLE!! If he had wanted accommodation in NEWCASTLE I would have booked accommodation in NEWCASTLE! Needless to say he was not very happy. Be very, very wary of this company I will NEVER use them again.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildred1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    50
    41
    72
See reviews for
102
75
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Like so many other reviews, we too ended up miles from where we needed to stay. Going to a conference at the university, instead we ended up in Hunter st, and ended up a $30 trip one way, and over$50 from the airport. The apartments were well secured and in a good location, but the important basics were missing. We paid $10/head/day for a 'breakfast package'. The feral host went out and bought a loaf of bread, a jug of milk, vegemite, jam and corn flakes and said that will do you for three days! The room was ok, but the second bedroom was two bunks in a box. I slept on the couch. My colleagues stayed at another apartments even further out and her experience was far worse than mine. No internet or cable was a big minus. The room was very dark and it was a very noisy place, although convenient if you needed to be in the heart of town.. Pool was ok, but all in all too much for mine.
....find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I planned a girls weekend in Newcastle for my birthday, I wanted to book accomodation in Honeysuckle as we were going to a day spa in the city and out to dinner in Honeysuckle. I made a booking in August after looking at the accomodation on the website. I decided to book a room at Adeena on the Wharf and received an email confirming a booking for a 2 bedroom penthouse.
I rang a week before to confirm the booking and was really looking forward to the stay as the apartments looked brand new and i was advised we would be on a top floor.
However, when i went to pick up the keys i was advised that my booking was not at Adeena on the Wharf and that there were no apartments available there. The manager then interupted and stated they would put me in a different apartment block that was on the foreshore with views of the harbour. This is not what i was given, I was charged the same price as the 2 bedroom penthouse and given an apartment on a low floor with a view of the train line right behind the building.
When i called the manager to request a change i received the response"what do you want me to do?", an apology at any stage would have been a good start. From reading the other reviews it seems it is common practice for this company to book you into a beautiful apartment and then on the day produce various excuses as to why this accomodation is no longer available. I believe it is false advertising and will be taking my complaint further.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geo1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Booked for 2 nights expecting 4 star accomodation. The room had dirty carpets, smelt of cigarettes (no smoking room) and was generally grimey. The couch was worn and ripped, the bathroom was tiled and covered in handprints from previous occupants, hair in the sink and no plug. Had a connecting door which allowed noise and cooking smells to enter our room. These do not look anywhere near as they do on the website and I would not stay there again

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank beedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Not like the website. BE WARNED.

Room was really grimy, dishes were dirty, cobwebs on celing, kids found big spider in the curtains onto the balcony, hair in the bed, cup rings on table top and smeared mirrors. Desperate need for a reno on this strange grecco roman/90's outdated decor, complete with fridge strategically placed to block door to connecting room and couch in front of ironing board. No privacy, open curtains to balcony and look straight into other rooms.

We checked in after a fifteen hour drive and checked out again shortly after. The staff were helpful but on returning the next morning to collect some personal belongings left behind in our haste to leave, we were yelled at by the belligerant manager who made us take the cleaners back through the rooms and yelled at his staff in front of us for refunding our fee and letting us check out instead of offering us another room, company policy is NOT our problem and we wouldnt have stayed in another room if they had paid US. Had trouble getting belongings back and had to suffer through an unhinged tirade from a manager who clearly doesnt deserve his job.

Incidentally if it matters to you, the pool is tiny and there is nowhere to sit or put down a towel and the parking facilities were terrible despite website saying that underground parking available.

Not the greatest neighbourhood either, definately not family friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We have stayed with Executive Villas on several occasions over the years the most recent being April 2009. Almost invariably we will be put in accommodation at a location other than that we were told at the time of booking. This can be frustrating - having said that the alternate accommodation has always been of a very high standard and better than that located in Jesmond - not that it is bad at that location. Indeed we are always told that the alternate accommodation will be excellent and if we do not agree come back and let them know.

On this occasion the accommodation we were given was nothing short of outstanding.

Unfortunately they are not too flash at answering emails sent via their website - so phone them.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We have had a couple of unreliable bookings with this in the past. The last one we were told there was 2 king beds, and 2 singles, only to find a king, queen, and one single fold up bed. We had two very small children staying with us that definitely required 2 singles. You have to collect the key literally 20 minutes away from where this apartment is located which is quite inconvenient. But all in all…we didn’t think this warranted complaining.
Our last experience has been even worse. We booked a 3 br apartment for a few days over Christmas for my family to stay at who are coming from 6 hours away. Our initial booking was about 3 months ago. After a month, my fiancé received a call telling him that the apartment we were booked in was no longer available as the owners had decided to move in over Christmas. Would we mind moving into another apartment on the beach? We were ok with this, checked it all had the same facilities that we had requested etc. We have sent numerous emails reconfirming our booking over the last 2 months and have been constantly reassured that apartment is definitely ours. Yesterday my mother –in-law called the management to arrange to collect the key on Christmas eve as our family wont be here in time to collect it themselves…and she was given a completely different address to where we have booked!! My fiancé called to enquire about it, and a very unconcerned management just said..yeah..we’re not sure the person in there is going to be out in time…The apartment we have been moved to is completely inappropriate and inadequate. We are left one week out from Christmas with the unenviable task of trying to find suitable accommodation for the family without being charged through the roof!! Another major concern is that the management obviously had no intention of informing us of this change. They simply expected us to pick up the key on Christmas eve and just have to put up with it.
Our family have been in drought affected country for the past 5 years, have seen it break this year and for the first time in a very long time were so looking forward to a little relaxing coastal getaway…now we have this drama!!
We are very upset by this and the attitude we are getting from the management. After a little research we found that we aren’t the first to experience this..please search the numerous reviews detailing similar experiences..and also ones that suggest some serious health and safety concerns…

Regards,and you have been warned

  • Liked — we had a roof
  • Disliked — the grubby feeling the managment left you with
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chaser999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Executive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Executive Villas

Property: Jesmond Executive Villas
Address: 185-193 Newcastle Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2299, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Executive Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Villas Jesmond provide a range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and also spa apartments. Each apartment has a large television with eight Foxtel channels and wireless internet is available on-site. The Villas are pet friendly and are situated next to a large park. Stockland Jesmond Shopping Centre is just across the road and public transport is easily accessible. Newcastle hospitals, Energy Australia Stadium and The Entertainment Centre are all just a short drive from the Villas. Disabled rooms are available on request. There is exciting development happening at our Jesmond site over the next few months. The Villas will be opening brand new apartments to meet the high demand for accommodation in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jesmond Executive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Executive Villas Hotel Newcastle
Jesmond Executive Hotel
Jesmond Executive Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing