We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great transit stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Executive Villas
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great transit stop”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for a trip up the pacific highway. Great easy location. Rooms had good amenities and were spotlessly clean.
Booking wasn't the easiest process, there were some problems with the website I had to call to follow up, but they were friendly. Similar with late check in.
Overall we were pleased with the stay and will return.
Thanks again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsjmac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    64
    52
    44
    75
See reviews for
106
78
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was split between two and three stars but gave this place 3 stars because some of the things here were excellent. I stayed in room 7, next to the pool.

The general look of this place is very good indeed, even the driveways look amazing. It was easy to book in to this place, I was initially served by a guy who was eating at the desk, before his colleague jumped in suggesting we should let him enjoy his break. I'm not sure if eating at reception is the professional way here but I didn't mind too much.

The keycard system was weird. At the entry to the door there was a numerical keypad but you swipe the keycard over it to gain access. Then the door has to be pushed in before being pulled out to enter.

The room layout is very smart, my room had a sofa (which smelled of dog) but also a nice table and four comfortable desk chairs. Amenities included a huge fridge freezer, cooking stove and storage units, some of which had a distinctive damp smell. An iron was provided but curiously no ironing board. The safe was tiny. The TV was huge but the remote control did not work and was not replaced by housekeeping. The doors had a few slats missing which slightly reduced privacy from the pool outside. The floors were large grey tiles, bright and smart looking,

The bedroom was also smart, large bed but no TV. There was a tag scrawled by previous guests under the mirror frame and what creeped me out was the cigarette burn mark on the duvet. When I called reception to have it changed, housekeeping promptly arrived to change it but the new cover had stains which housekeeping assured had just been washed so she didn't know why they were there. I gave up but she informed me that she would get her colleague to change it in the morning. This was not done. One of the lights in the room had a mind of its own, turning itself off and back on randomly.

The bathroom was the highlight, a very clean looking and professional layout, save for some mouldy marks on the translucent block windows. The spa was excellent with optional shower and it had a roomy appearance. The pool was okay, not huge but also contained a little spa which was nice.

The WiFi was $10 per 24 hours, not costly but you had to keep logging in which was extremely annoying considering the passwords are just jumbled up letters. Parking is free but not allocated so you may need to park elsewhere. Location is okay, not to far from Newcastle beach and Blackbutt Reserve and also has a small shopping precinct nearby which include restaurants.

Check out was painless and the receptionist even helped me to check in online for my flight before I left.

This hotel has great potential but they need to sort out a few issues that would put guests off coming back.

Room Tip: You may find upper floor rooms feel a tad more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate all the positive points you highlighted.
We do not find it prefessional to eat at the desk and will make sure the staff are aware of this.
We also apologise for the state of the duvet covers and are in the process of a thorough stocktake of our bedding.
Parking is free and unallocated and even when full we do not have any trouble accomodating all cars. No guest has ever had to park off site.
We do have a great little team of staff and we always try to go out of our way to make our guests feel welcome and help them out in any way we can.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We wanted somewhere to relax - even for only one night. The spa bath made that happen!
Excellent value for money considering that we booked it through Wotif.
Good layout and use of space - would have worked well if we were staying there for a longer time.
The distance from town didn't matter - made it interesting to go into the CBD and out again, rather than just stay in the CBD.
Glad we were around the back a bit as the location is immediately adjacent to the main road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we sincerely appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a wotif deal. One bedroom apartment with spa Room very spacious bed very comfy & the spa was fantastic. The only issue was that we had room 13 and the swipe access key was not working properly and when we got reception to look at it he said he'd get a locksmith to look at it then again at coming home at 1130 pm it still didn't work was very frustrating being stuck outside your room at that time of night. And we had said it was an issue upon first checking in at 230pm. Apart from this we would return again. Very clean rooms and balcony was nice too

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holidayers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I do remember that this weekend we did have some problems with our electronic lock system. I can't assure you that this is an extremely rare occurance and it was fixed by the following day. We are so sorry that you were inconvenienced. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

#29 unit has very modern furniture and a beautiful bathtub! We stayed there for only one night, but we wished we could stay more! Especially we loved the bathtub!
I think it's quite reasonable to stay in such a nice modern place! And free wifi is very helpful! I felt it was a bit far from the city though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maaaaaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Apartment 29 is one of our Deluxe Spa apartments, you will have to join us again when you have more time to enjoy. We are only located about 10 minutes drive from the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Facilities and services were great and very reasonable priced. Book in advance to avoid disapointment. There was a nice booking confirmation from "Peter" hours prior our checking in...but bit strange to find that no such person works there. Nonetheless, will stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Xinny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to wriite such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We don't have a Peter working for us but I'm glad hes looking out for our customers anyway. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After an initial problem with our booking we were put into to a very small room (#23). It hardly fit 2 people. We were very disappointed. The beds were small and moved around on the tile floor. Because of the beds moving we a found a sticky mess under one bed. We also had noisy neighbours that kept us awake after 11pm and then woke us again at 4am. I had to be up at 6am!!! All we got was a 'sorry about that' in the morning. Not impressed. The pool is much smaller than it appears in the photos and it was so full of people the whole time we were there. No chance for a quick cool down in the heat. We had pots and pans in our cupboards but no stove top. Overall we were very unhappy with our stay and left very tired. I thought maybe we would have been compensated for out noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_sgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Matthias, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The initial problem with your booking was that you booked it for the wrong date. When you arrived the booking was for the following weekend and we only has one room availble which was a small studio. This is advertised as our smallest room type, and this was explained you you that we were happy to move your booking over but this was our last room left.
Unfortunately we cannot control the noise of all of our guests. While we do observe a 10pm curfew for noise, unfortunately not everyone follows the rules. On your complaint, the guests were asked to turn the music down several times in the early evening, however we were not advised of noise at 4am,if we were our night security could have intervened, and not sure what we could have done in retropect on your complaint in the morning. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,436 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
357 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Executive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Executive Villas

Property: Jesmond Executive Villas
Address: 185-193 Newcastle Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2299, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Executive Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Villas Jesmond provide a range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and also spa apartments. Each apartment has a large television with eight Foxtel channels and wireless internet is available on-site. The Villas are pet friendly and are situated next to a large park. Stockland Jesmond Shopping Centre is just across the road and public transport is easily accessible. Newcastle hospitals, Energy Australia Stadium and The Entertainment Centre are all just a short drive from the Villas. Disabled rooms are available on request. There is exciting development happening at our Jesmond site over the next few months. The Villas will be opening brand new apartments to meet the high demand for accommodation in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Executive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Executive Villas Hotel Newcastle
Jesmond Executive Hotel
Jesmond Executive Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing