We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Executive Villas
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very pleasant”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

my partner and I stayed at
Jesmond Executive Villas for three nights in room 4 when we arrived the reception staff were very helpful, when we got to our room we both thought it would of been noisy because of it being at the front near the road but it was actually quiet. The room had a lovely vanilla smell throughout it, everything was perfectly clean there is not one bad thing that I can say about the room the cleaner who does that room should be praised at how much of amazing job was done, on our last day we went to the laundry to ask if we could have a couple of new towels the young girl that we spoke to was absolutely delightful she has amazing customer service skills and to have her say if there is anything else we would like not to hesitate to ask made both my partner and I feel very welcomed and comfortable we will definatley be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musgrove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jesmond Executive Villas.

Kind Regards

Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    50
    41
    72
See reviews for
102
75
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed over the AUstralia Day long weekend 2013 and it was very busy. THe room was the executive with spa and we paid a premium for it as it was the last room left.Our room was pretty good, it was quiet(right up the back of the property). Everything was in working order however the 2 sofa beds downstairs were atrocious. You may as well have laid on a bed of springs.Extremely uncomfortable for my children. I really felt sorry for them. The second night they didnt even bother making it up into a sofa bed and just slept on the lounge. The upstairs bed was comfortable.
The reception was a shambles. No one seemed to know what they were doing. After being rung three times earlier that day by different staff members to see what time we would be arriving, they then tried to tell me at check in that I wasnt due to arrive until the next day!!
The pool I wouldnt even call a pool. It was freezing cold (good as we had a hot day) but it could only fit about 6 people in it comfortable and there were no chairs, tables or anywhere to put your stuff.
It was directly across the road from Hungry Jacks, a pub (with a great chinese restuarant) and grocery shops.
Whilst our room was pretty nice, our friends were placed in a room that wasnt even part of the villas but a dumpy looking place next doore. They were very unhappy, they had broken blinds and looked straight out onto the highway so had streetlights coming in all night.Room was very unclean also.
Overall our stay was ok mainly cause we were only there to sleep and nothing else but I probably wouldnt stay again.

Room Tip: Book an executive room but dont count on the sofa beds being sleepable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here unfortunately only for one night. The room I stayed in had a low-set spa, 2 big TV's, full sized modern fridge/freezer and a generous supply of cooking gear (pots/pans/cutlery).

These guys have got it right when it comes to accommodation. For business travellers, we want a home away from home and Jesmond Executive Villas deliver 100%. JEV is also located 3minutes (walking) from coles and other various food/shopping outlets.
The staff were friendly and were keen to help.

My only complaint was that the bed was made up of 2 and one side sloped into the middle. It was still comfortable but needed some attention.

Thank-you JEV. You will see me again if I ever stay near Jesmond in the future.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what the other rooms are like, but I'm sure reception would be more than happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jesmond Executive Villas.

Kind Regards

Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a 2 night stay last week to try before booking an extended stay. Unfortunately I would have to agree with most of the negative comments on this site. The apartment was very old and lacked basic maintenance. The refrigerator hadn't been cleaned, the red floor rug that shows up in the photos had not been vacuumed, the bed cover was stained & had a hole from a cigarette burn, the shower in the spa bath is quite dangerous as there is a dip in the base that is a slip hazard as is the water that gets sprayed over the floor because there is no shower curtain. The mattress was very hard which resulted in aching shoulders & hips. On a good note the proximity to the shopping centre, hotel etc was very convenient. The staff quite pleasant and at the end of the day the daily rate was cheap.

Room Tip: It's possible that some apartments are newer than others so maybe ask if that's the case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately it does sound like your apartment was not cleaned to our usual standard. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Had you informed us during you stay we would have done our best to move you to a more satisfactory room. We are constantly upgrading the facilities and the interiors of our rooms to ensure they are in the best condition possible. We have passed your comments onto our cleaning staff to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good points Location is perfect for uni, shops eating and easy to find. Room was at the back and quite overnight with no problem lights. The full kitchen is great to have. Parking is usually plentiful. Pool is small but adequate for a quick dip to cool off.
Now for the bad bits!! Access off the busy road is a problem and can be dangerous. I booked twin beds but arrived to find a double made up. Reception was very polite when I asked for the change and this was done whilst we walked out to pick up supplies for meals. Further problems were:- Could not view the nice large TV from the table or couch without getting a cricked neck; TV remote only worked intermittently (may have needed new batteries); asked for non--smoking room which we did not get - room reeked of smoke, even pillows on my bed- it was disgusting and I felt quite ill by morning. One of the beds was literally across bathroom door which made access difficult especially at night in dark. It had 2 steps up to access. This is dangerous for any age group! Overall room a little dirty/grimy. Perhaps partly because it is a smoking room. The tea/ coffee facilities had not been checked and we had no coffee or biscuits on arrival - had to go out and buy coffee. In the morning we found every power point blown. (eventually found one working high on wall for the TV - had to stand on chair holding kettle to get water boiled) So no toast, cooked brekkie, hair dryer, phones did not charge overnight etc. We had a full day of appointments so all in all very frustrating.
Sorry to say I will now be looking for alternate accommodation for my trips to Newcastle and recommending same to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lookalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for compliments on our rooms and locations.
We are located on a main road for convenience and have never had any problems with people accessing the property. We do our best to have the correct bedding configuration available for our guests on check in. I’m sorry that on this occasion the bed was not split however we will always fix this for our guests as soon as it is brought to our attention. All our TV’s are located in front of the lounge suites and wall mounted. Unfortunately sometimes the batteries in the remotes do run out and we change these as soon as informed.
All of our rooms are non smoking. Unfortunately some guests choose to ignore this and proceed to smoke in the rooms. We do our best to air the rooms and have an ozone machine which is designed to remove odours.
All of our apartments are fitted with safety switches which can sometimes be tripped by a faulty appliance within or brought into the apartment. Had we been aware we would have fixed the problem immediately.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We needed to have a stop on a trip from Brooms Head to Sydney. Booked through booking.com. There was an issue with which room we had booked but this was sorted within minutes. The facilities were lovely and we thouroughly enjoyed the stay.

Don't know about the food or any fitness centres hence the 3's.

Room Tip: I would call rather than relying on any online booking system to get it right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam3s77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jesmond Executive Villas.

Kind Regards

Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We resently stayed in the villas for one night.The villa was a lovely surprise inside.Due to the price ,I was expecting a low grade room.Instead I was delighted with such a lovely spacious room.Clean, neat and tidy with a lovely BBQ area.The bathroom is massive, very clean.The bedroom was nicely appointed.The A/C was great due to the hot conditions of December. It was very quiet and peaceful.After a long drive and busy night attending a wedding my husband and I were really happy we booked this villa. Friends of ours paid 3 times the amount staying in a hotel close by.
We took our breakfast cereal all ready for the morning, tea & coffee were supplied.The over size lounges could be updated, however they are comfortable to sit on and watch TV.
The staff were very friendly and I would recommend the Jesmond Executive Villas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Kocher, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jesmond Executive Villas.

Kind Regards

Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Executive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Executive Villas

Property: Jesmond Executive Villas
Address: 185-193 Newcastle Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2299, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Executive Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Villas Jesmond provide a range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and also spa apartments. Each apartment has a large television with eight Foxtel channels and wireless internet is available on-site. The Villas are pet friendly and are situated next to a large park. Stockland Jesmond Shopping Centre is just across the road and public transport is easily accessible. Newcastle hospitals, Energy Australia Stadium and The Entertainment Centre are all just a short drive from the Villas. Disabled rooms are available on request. There is exciting development happening at our Jesmond site over the next few months. The Villas will be opening brand new apartments to meet the high demand for accommodation in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jesmond Executive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Executive Villas Hotel Newcastle
Jesmond Executive Hotel
Jesmond Executive Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing