We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and quick”
Review of MoneyPenny

MoneyPenny
Ranked #68 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: MoneyPenny is a contemporary small bar positioned deep within the beating heart of Newcastle’s thriving Honeysuckle precinct - a seductively lit, intimate retreat serving delicious share dishes and whimsical beverages in a playful, yet sophisticated atmosphere.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value and quick”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

At 6:30 on Saturday night we were after a quick cheap meal before going to the Civic theatre. Found a rare spare table in money penny . Good, cheap food and plenty of it- $15 burgers with onion rings or pizza etc. Service was quick and polite. Would definitely revisit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curious022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at MoneyPenny, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Curious022,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed everything, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Big smiles and best wishes,
Paul Davies and The Team @ MoneyPenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    17
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Recently came to Moneypenny for dinner and drinks. We had a wonderful time and couldn't fault anything. The pork sliders are amazing and you can't beat the thin crust pizzas!
Some of the best cocktails I have ever had!
Thanks guys.

Helpful?
Thank Anna8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at MoneyPenny, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Anna...!

Thank you for coming in and an even bigger thank you for leaving us a lovely review!
So glad you enjoyed the cocktails and food, we try and put a lot of love into both!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Paul Davies and The Team @ MoneyPenny xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good drinks, less impressive food”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Thought I'd best try out the new kid on the block and not sure if I'll be going back anytime soon.

I think I may have had the worst antipasto (although they call it something else) in my life. The portion certainly wasn't for 2 people even with the extra cheese that we ordered (as it had no cheese on it). The vegetables served with the antipasto seem like they're house made but were not really enjoyable at all, they wear far too oily (obviously the require oil but that was all that I could taste). The artichoke hearts were ok compared to the eggplant and zucchini. It is listed as a gluten free option but they don't have any gluten free crackers or bread to serve with it. The prosciutto was incredibly chewy and not enjoyable at all. The only other meat was a salami (possibly pepperoni). As a dish it's really lacking a lot, you just expect a bit more on an antipasto.

The cocktails were lovely although they took just as long as our meals. It seemed like only one person was making cocktails so perhaps more staff need to be trained in this. Staff are nice.

It was a cool evening (Friday 31/1) so some outdoor heating may have been nice. Even my friend from Latvia was freezing. We sat outside and listened to the couple behind us whining about how cold it was so it definitely wasn't just us.

I hope the other items on the menu are much better.

Helpful?
1 Thank kendoll911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at MoneyPenny, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Kendoll911,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on MoneyPenny.
How disappointing it is for us to read a negative review, we really do try hard to make this place enjoyable for everyone, but alas, you can't please all of the people all of the time despite our best intentions...

What a shame you didn't mention anything to us when you were here, that way we could have at least tried to address your issues on the spot and perhaps prevent a bad review.

All of our staff are trained in cocktail making, the limitations of our small size prevent efficient cocktail making by more than one person at any one time, I apologise if you thought the wait was excessive. I'm glad you enjoyed the cocktails, our drinks are prepared with a bit more love than majority of establishments (freshly squeezed juice / frozen glassware / custom ice) so this can lead to a bit more time involved but hopefully the end result speaks for itself.

With regards to outdoor heating, when you visited us on the 31st of January, this is the height of Summer and cool temperatures requiring outdoor heating were not foreseen by anyone. We hire outdoor gas heaters from March - August but can't afford to hire them throughout the year on the off chance we may experience a single random cool day during an Australian Summer where much higher temperatures are usually experienced.

We sincerely hope a single lacklustre Antipasto plate doesn't prevent you from returning to experience our usual level of quality and service. I have passed on your comments to the Chef which we will use for further training and development.

Yours in hospitality,
Paul Davies and The Team @ MoneyPenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“loved every moment.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I celebrated my 21st birthday at Money Penny last Friday night with my family and had a great night. All food choices were enjoyed (everyones favourites being the lamb ribs), for the amount of food we ordered we were suprised when the bar staff told us the price as it was so cheap! great wine and beer selection! our new 'go to' place when we don't feel like cooking. Atmosphere was great and so was our waitress!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tegan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at MoneyPenny, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Tegan P,

Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate your 21st birthday!
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed everything.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Paul Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

One of the first places I suggest when looking to go out. Love taking visitors there to showcase what wonderful food and restaurants we have in Newcastle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjays62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at MoneyPenny, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Kjays62,

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback!
It's always so nice to hear about people enjoying and recommending MoneyPenny.
We hope to see you again soon.

Paul Davies and The Team @ MoneyPenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoneyPenny also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to MoneyPenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing