We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Taree
1 review
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I attended a managers course in Newcastle, about two blocks away from the Travelodge. My manager stayed there last year, that's where I heard of you. I was very happy with my stay!! :) would definitely recommend any other business tripers to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Megan S,

The team and I are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    447
    377
    133
    82
See reviews for
230
385
98
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corrimal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Good location, clean, spacious. Was a bit of traffic noise and thin walls between rooms. Compared to others, paid parking wasn't impressive. Be prepared to pay for everything! Even though we booked as a family, nothing extra was supplied, eg only two towels. Overall it was good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms & central location. I'm sorry that we didn't have extra towels ready in your room & we will certainly learn from this & improve our service in the future. We do have a friendly, 24-hour reception team who would have been happy to supply you with extra towels & guest amenities free of charge. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Was ok, there was a cockroach in the room. The room was a good size and it was right across the road from a shopping centre.
It costs $15 for parking which is ok but it was very tight parking and we couldn't park under cover as we didn't fit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Erin S R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I am so sorry that you found a cockroach in your room, and I assure you that we have followed up your comment with our pest control company. We have the hotel serviced regularly, and take your feedback regarding this issue very seriously. We do have a height restriction on our undercover parking, so unfortunately it is not always suitable for larger vehicles. Thanks once again for your constructive feedback & I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle in the future.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Second visit to Travelodge Newcastle, a good option if you need to stay in the city, particularly in the west end. All was fine with what you expect from a hotel stay in this price range. Staff are friendly, particularly the breakfast guy. Rooms very clean, verging on spacious (plenty of room for a porta-cot) and everything worked as expected. Breakfast is decent value and quite edible. The area is a little noisy on a weekend night but not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank snubian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear snubian,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms & yummy breakfast. Our friendly team works hard to please our guests every day & I'll be sure to pass on your compliments! We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Reception staff are good and friendly. Check in and out process was fast.
Strong paint smell due to renovation next door. Not very comfortable. Room was not very clean. Able to found dust and spider webs in some areas in the room. Bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kuan Hua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Kuan Hua P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We aim to consistently provide a high standard of cleanliness, and I'm very sorry that we let you down on this occasion. I'm glad that you found our team friendly & efficient, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Nsw, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Overall, the hotel was good - clean, nice sized room and a comfortable bed. The shower was very strong (strong enough to massage my back!). Double glazing on windows helped with noise from the nearby pub/club. On the downside, noise travels easily between rooms; they should attempt to separate guests where possible because of this. There was barely enough shampoo and conditioner to wash my hair. Hot water takes a couple of minutes to come through. Customer service was mixed - we had a great lady at check-in but the lady on check-out was average. All in all, I wouldn't be unhappy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angiepants83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Angiepants83,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay. It's great to read that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms. I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the shampoo/conditioner & the level of guest service we provided on this occasion. We will use your comments moving forward to continue to train our team & improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon!

Kind regards,

Tiffeny Gregg
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall, the Newcastle Travelodge was convenient and comfortable for a quick overnight stay. The room temperature was an issue and the room was a little stuffy. The staff are very helpful and friendly.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Kim L M,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay. I appreciate the time you have taken to do so. I'm sorry there was an issue with the temperature in your room on this occasion. We do have individually controlled air conditioners in each room, and our friendly reception team are on hand 24-hours a day to assist with any issues. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit & we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon!

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Property: Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing