We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Took a Newcastle mystery on Wotif. Ended up here for a one night stay, a Friday night. Dined at Sienna Bar and Cafe, the service was good, bar area dull and in need of an upgrade. Bar service was slow. Dining, our meals were served in reasonable time, hubbies medium steak was more like well-done and my barramundi was lovely. The accommodation was comfortable, we had a few noisy guests arrive back on our level in the early hours. Room features were good, bathroom clean and in need of an upgrade. Breakfast offered a good selection. Parking charge was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M007J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.

It was pleasing to hear you had a comfortable stay and your feedback in regards to the restaurant will be followed up with our Chef.

It’s our hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    473
    419
    154
    91
See reviews for
254
411
103
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Needing accommodation last minute I booked this on a wotif mystery hotel for $99 including buffet breakfast so I'm not complaining (although I did pay $15 extra for parking). This is your typical Travelodge not Hilton, room was nice and spacious with a little table and 2 chairs, huge comfortable king-size bed, shower over a bath, full length mirror (which sadly other places lack)...mini bar was over priced but you get that, bathroom could do with a revamp but it was clean and mould free....our room looked out to the main street and I never heard any traffic noise and being a Friday night never heard any nightclub noise either ( that comfortable king bed must of put me into a coma)..The area had all the fast food places within walking distance kfc, maccas, pizza hut, dominos, you wont starve if the restaurant's closed !!!!
Breakfast was ok, have seen bigger and better but everything a hot buffet breakfast consists of was there.. Reception were very friendly and extremely helpful on the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellietia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us.

It was great to hear you found the hotel suited your every need and we hope to have you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for night as we booked a mystery deal. Rooms spacious clean and king bed is very comfortable.
Although the location isn't great if you plan to stay over the weekend there's a night club and a 24/7 maccas straight across the road and its very noisy until around 3am on a Saturday morning plus the view of burnt out cars out the corridor windows kind of gave us a ghetto feeling a little.
But we also got the buffet brekky in our wotif deal and it was really nice and the food/staff was great. I would stay here again as its great value for money if you get a room & brekky deal but the noise levels from outside over a weekend is a bit deterring.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving your feedback.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

In regards to the burnt out cars, the local council is assisting us to ask the businesses behind us to clean up the back of their properties which we unfortunately look onto. We hope to have this sorted soon if we can.

Thank you!

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I last stayed in this hotel two years ago and vowed never to go back again! Unfortunately I decided to book a "4 star mystery hotel for this trip and ended up back there"! They have in fact improved their rooms in that period , had a good king size bed and clean decor, bathroom still very dated. However the area is terrible, the view out of the window was of wrecked cars, graffiti and boarded up buildings. the area feels unsafe which was a real shame as on Sunday they don't have a restaurant, bar or even room service available so had to go out to get food! I asked about something to drink and the receptionist said there is a mini bar in your room!
The breakfast was really basic and not very nice, asked for butter for my toast and was told " no we don't have that! " really not good enough! The dining area reminded me of a backpackers with plastic topped tables and no tablecloths. Have complained to the web site I booked this hotel through as it certainly doesn't resemble any other four star hotel I have stayed at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoydsAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us again here at Travelodge Newcastle.

The details of your stay was very displeasing to read, we did not on this occasion meet your expectations and I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologies for the experience you had with us.

If possible I would like to speak with you directly about the issues raised and offer a return stay on us, please contact me directly on the details below.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here recently for two nights. Good location being 5 minutes walk from Wickham train station and about 15 minutes from Honeysuckle. So here's my review:
- The king size bed is AWESOME! It may just be one of the comfiest beds ever.
- The staff were all friendly and helpful right down to housekeeping staff.
- Maybe insignificant but the bar fridge had just enough space for me to put some juice and water into.
- Rooms are pretty spacious.

Ok, the bad.
- Theres a pub/nightclub outside and the noise is ridiculous. Music, loud voices, the odd police car. It did quieten down around midnight.
- Right on a busy intersection and Theres a fair bit of traffic noise.
- Tv didn't work well. It would just stop completely or the sound would go off for a few minutes.
- The extremely annoying green flashing light on the smoke alarm, right above the bed that flashed ALL night. At one point it came on and stayed on for about half an hour.
- The walls are extremely thin. I was woken by the couple next door returning at 2.30am and heard their full conversation about people they had met when out. I also heard other things that I'd rather my 5 year old didn't!!

Despite the enegatives, we had a good stay. Would also recommend the little Thai takeaway near Cole's in Markettown - the pad Thai was just amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valued feedback.

Having such detailed comments about your stay with us is greatly appreciated as it lets us know where we are doing things right and how we can change to suit our guests the most important this to us.

Great to hear the room, staff and location suited your every need however I do understand with us being so close to everything it also can have some outside noise. The thickness of the walls is something I will follow up with our team to look at options and we do have a TV signal issue that affects some channels, this we are looking at now.

On behalf of all the team here, thank you for your feedback and we all hope to see you again at the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked though wotif and got a great deal. Staff where friendly and polite.

The room we had (513) must have had a recent refurb as the carpet was brand new, new fittings and a new tv that was a good size.

We had breakfast included, the scrambled eggs and bacon where nice. Overall the breakfast was good for what we payed.

Wifi is available in the lobby but not in the rooms which is a little disappointing- I would have payed for it if it was available.

The location is great, five or so minutes to the wharf and about 10 to Darby Street (walking).

Didn't get a chance to check out the pool as it rained most of the time :(

Next time I come to Newcastle, I'll stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmmCoffeeAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to your recent stay with us.

It is always great to hear when we have guests stay how they found the rooms and services provided. Your comfort is so important to us and it sounds like we achieved our goal in making your stay with us memorable.

The hotel has looked at getting the whole building Wi-Fi friendly, this is something we hope to be able to change in the future to ensure we are meeting the requirements for our guests needs.

Please contact us directly when you would like to stay again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank you!

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked one night mid week here when in town to see the ballet, it was a wotif mystery deal for $99. For this price it was great value, the rooms are spacious and nicely presented. Is quite conveniently located to go to the restaurants and bars at Honeysuckle, about a 15 minute walk away. I did not hear any street noise however the walls were quite thin so when the person next door was talking loudly it sounded like they were in the room with you! we left early in the morning so cannot comment on breakfast. Overall a good place for one night, especially if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

It was lovely to hear you had a great stay with us and at our special offer rate. It is also good to know that you found the hotel location convenient as it is important to have lots of options around to explore as well as a comfortable place to stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Patterson

Relief Hotel Manager
Travelodge Newcastle
+61 2 49263777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,004 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Property: Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing