We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our stay here was just a stopover after a late night movie. We didn't actually book here specifically but got it cheap on a booking site as a mystery hotel!

Comfortable, quiet and clean, breakfast was nice and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The only downside is that it is at the wrong end of town, away from the beaches and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HakkaChrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear HakkaChrissa,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your positive comments.
I was also delighted that you found our team to be helpful and friendly and the breakfast to be nice.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Newcastle.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    467
    409
    148
    91
See reviews for
250
404
102
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After reading the latest Tripadvisor reviews I was a little hesitant to book the Travelodge,Newcastle. But I have to report having stayed last Saturday night that it was a pleasant stay....good size room, clean, bathroom had been updated and a good size. Yes, paying for parking is a little steep but considering the handy location it's worth it and also for safety reasons. The hot breakfast self serve buffett was a healthy selection of fruits, cereals, yoghurt followed by eggs,bacon,etc. The Reception staff were curteous ,efficent and on leaving told us of where the great farmer's market was being held on the Sunday morning. All in all for the rate of the room I thought it was more than what we had paid for. Newcastle has lots of good restaurants for dinner and the Travelodge is right in the middle of Newcastle so you can walk to almost anywhere you want. Good value for a modest tariif.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiulianaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear GiulianaSydney,
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and in a good location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to sometime in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our 2 nights at this hotel were not as good as we had hoped.
A dirty cup, a dirty towel, a leaking basin in bathroom, hair in the plug hole in the same basin and a missing globe in light were not welcoming features!
Our complaints to Reception were dealt with quickly.
The letter of apology from the manager plus a little box of chocolates and free drink vouchers were appreciated.
But these hygiene issues should not have occurred.
We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Batts654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Batts654,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle.
I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that we hope our guests have.
Any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Considering the not-so-budget room price, the following was not expected. Dated accommodation; parking is not free; inadequate glassware; no cleaning materials for cups; internet is not free and should have guest WiFi; lighting above bed is inadequate for reading; inadequate mini-bar; up front charging ; we were overcharged and it takes two business days to receive a refund. We thought this arrangement was grossly unfair and luckily we did not need the funds urgently!; sound proofing between rooms is poor and we suffered noisy neighbours partying next door.

On the plus side, the staff were great, the breakfast is the restaurant was excellent, and the room was clean.

It is unlikely we will stay again as we usually get far better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Oztayls,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle.
You will be pleased to know we are in the process of updating our rooms, this includes the bathrooms, bedding and an updated minibar with new glasswear.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of your authorisation not being released in an appropriate time frame by your bank. Unfortunately financial providers do differ in their release procedures and I am sorry this has impacted your stay.
I am sorry to read your neighbours disturbed you, I encourage you and all of our guests to engage the services of the hotel’s Duty Manager if they are dissatisfied with any element of the hotel. This way we can address the issue immediately and ensure that you can go on to enjoy your stay with us.
If you would like to discuss this feedback further please contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here just before NYE on the way down to Sydney and back again on New Years Day. Got the same room both nights (as I asked for it). The room was a surprise for the price as it had a spa bath and the bed was huge and very comfortable. I had a read a lot of bad reviews on this hotel and was a bit dubious but honestly go a stay there - it was really pleasant and I would go back again. The breakfast wasn't great but what buffet breakfast ever is - unless you are cooking food fresh its always a little stale but as buffet breakfasts go it was fine and certainly edible - yes parking is $15 a night but on both nights we found parking on the street in front of the hotel for free so don't let that put you off. Special mention to reception who were lovely and very welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 604 has a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
The team at Travelodge Newcastle are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed New Year's Eve. Was a nice room, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was tiny, toilet was behind the door which was kind of annoying. Staff were real nice and friendly. Secure parking (for a fee). Would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChaninaBanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear ChaninaBanina,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
It was great to read you found our staff friendly and nice. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Newcastle.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and could not fault the level of customer service. We commented to reception about a buzzing noise in our room as we were going out for the afternoon. When we came back we were left a lovely note informing us that unfortunately maintenance could not fix the problem and they apologise for the inconvenience. They also left a box of chocolates and the note also said to inform them of our return and they would send up a complimentary bottle of bubbly. Such a nice surprise. The staff were so accommodating and very friendly and they made our stay very enjoyable. Such a nice change and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Well done!

Room Tip: The executive spa suite was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Belinda T,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle in the future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Property: Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing