We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice and modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Junction Hotel in Newcastle. This is a very nice, trendy and modernly decorated hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice, everything is very clean. We liked it a lot.

However there is no official hotel car park and there is no reception. You have to deal with the young ladies at the bar of the Junction Hotel Restaurant wich is on the street level of the hotel. They are very friendly, but cannot help you with questions regarding Newcastle (address of the tourist information) or booking information for a Hunter Valley tour. There is no breakfast served either, but there are cafes all around.

I recommend this hotel to somebody who already knows Newcastle and the region.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We always love to hear about people experiences when they stay with us, it is a great way to know how we can assist others in the future. Parking is available to all guest in our secure parking area for an additional fee. We will be sure to let all of our staff know of where to direct our guest when they are looking for tourism opportunities. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in OZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    88
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
187
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great price for the number one hotel in Newcastle. I was in Newcastle for a gig at the City Hall and actually walked to the gig, about 2kms. The Junction area was new to me but there are good cafes and restaurants so I'll probably stay there again. The Junction pub is funky and stylish, not grand but good fun. My only problem was the open plan toilet/ shower set up. A glass box in the corner of the room. I have no problem with the shower, it was good, but for me going to the toilet was never a spectator sport so I wouldn't stay there with my wife the toilet is just too open plan for my taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozpromoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
The Junction precinct is a great little area that is not too well known to visitors of Newcastle so we are glad to be able to share this with the people who are now staying in our new accommodation. I am guessing that you stayed in room 8 or 9...we have other rooms that are a little less open so be sure to ask the next time you book with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on Sunday and Monday after a long drive from brisbane the staff were very friendly room was fantastic and the food downstairs at the bar was the best pub fair I've had in quite a while would recommend it to anyone staying in newcastle

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...especially after such a long drive! We had just changed our menu over when you were here so I have glad that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had to stay in Newcastle for the night after a business meeting and was very pleasantly surprised with my accommodation at the Junction Hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It was very good value. I also had breakfast at the café across the road which was very nice. The whole area has a good feel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We love The Junction precinct, it is definitely a nice surprise to anyone who hasn't been to the area! So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, next time you stay make sure you choose a different room so we can surprise you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed in room 1 - amazing. So roomy and bed really comfortable. Loved it. Was warmly welcomed and the manager was extremely helpful and friendly. Absolutely loved the funky shower. Can't imagine I'll stay anywhere else now! Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Given the location of room 1 - I could hear any noise from the street throughout the night so not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us...#1 is a wonderful room as our largest available. Can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourke, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in room three (king size bed) for two nights. We were more than impressed. The room is small but has everything you need. The decor is very funky and modern yet cosy and comfortable. The bed was divine. The shower was awesome with a rain shower tap. We were exhausted when we arrived and they quite cheerfully brought our dinner to the room along with a free bottle of wine. Even though we were directly above the pub we never heard a peep and slept soundly through the night. It is right in the middle of The Junction with yummy restaurants and fun shopping nearby. For the price this is a real steal. The one and only downside was that there was no lift when bringing in our suitcases - but this certainly was not a deal breaker and the exercise was probably good for us! We will definitely stay here whenever we come to Newcastle. You should too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBF6210NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Reading your review has just made my day...this is how we had envisaged our guest experience when we designed and renovated the space on the second floor of our hotel! Hope to see you back here real soon, and next time let us take your bags up to your room no one needs to exercise while on holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Hills, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had not been back to stay in Newcastle for about 30 years. We found The Junction which was central to all areas of the city. The refurbishment of the old hotel that had roots in the 1800's was a refreshing and pleasant surprise. The new décor and feel of the bar and restaurant areas was stunning. We had a few meals as well as being their when the they had a DJ playing and the vibe was very pleasant. The room we had was also one of the best fitted out rooms we have stayed in with many quality fitting and wonderful décor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
WOW, 30 years...what a different city it would have been back then. The Junction is a great central location within Newcastle so we wanted to provide accommodation that can be enjoyed for business travel and also for those travelling for pleasure or just stopping by to visit family or friends. Hope you enjoyed rediscovering our town as much as you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Property: Junction Hotel
Address: 204 Corlette St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER NSW AHA Awards for Excellence - Best Accommodation. The Junction Hotel is located in a vibrant cosmopolitan area only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle, NSW. Situated on the coast of NSW, we are only a 2 hour drive north from Sydney or 20 mins from Williamtown airport. This modern hotel has recently undergone a transformation on its second floor, being lovingly and painstakingly designed into 9 striking rooms, each with their own distinct personality.The Junction Hotel exquisite rooms are contemporary in design while quirky in personality, each presenting a unique experience when you stay. All rooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high speed internet, walk-in showers, and most importantly an intimate setting that will refresh your senses and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing