We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Newcastle Success Story.”
Review of Le Passe Temps

Le Passe Temps
Ranked #57 of 563 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $51
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Passe Temps is a French restaurant and lounge in Newcastle CBD. Cradled in the old Commercial bank of Sydney, it opened in July 2013 and offers a large range of French and Australian wines from the Hunter valley. The restaurant "La Mezzanine" has a three course menu that allows customers to choose from a range of starters, mains and desserts. The particularity of Le Passe Temps is its unique French atmosphere.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another Newcastle Success Story.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very French and very chic. We enjoyed our night here. The service is a little frenetic - one minute table service, the next not. That may be because we were sitting what was considered to be the bar. The food - charcuterie plate, tomato mozzarella and basil, pate and goats salad was good. My only gripe is that they need to provide more bread - as anywhere in France more bread is provided. The tomato was also a let down - "floury" and tasteless - needed a more tasty heirloom variety. It is just wonderful to see these wine bars opening in Newcastle. It gives the more "mature" patron a place to go out to enjoy a drink - without having to go to restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merran97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a number of positive visits to Le Passe Temps I'm saddened to say this place seems to be taking a turn for the worse. I was briskly turned away from ordering at the bar while waiting for table service. Exasperatingly, we were unable to order a Nespresso coffee for a non-drinking guest without first ordering dessert because, 'this is a wine bar'. We were then castigated for deciding to leave without ordering food! Music was unsettled with bar staff skipping tracks half-way through.

Some sad development in a place I was initially optimistic about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HardyBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overrated!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have to Le Passe Temps three times now and have found staff to be rude, unwelcoming and obnoxious! They refused to give us change claiming to 'not have any change that night' and the wine list was far from impressive. Do yourself a favour and stay away from this one!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GB0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sexy bar with a French accent”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My drinking companion always swoons at a French accent and this place is chock full of the same. It's also in a lovely old heritage building and popular with the locals for good reason. Decor is eclectic and stylish. The lighting could be improved however (to set the mood). It's perfect in some areas but too bright in places. Great drinks list to suit all tastes. Would definitely go back again. Fantastic addition to the Newcastle scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmallWorld747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
939 reviews
604 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“Vive La France!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a sparkling gem tucked away in Hunter Street - a wine bar and bistro offering French wines and cuisine. We shared a half plate of foie gras and a half plate of cheeses, and enjoyed three glasses of wine. What a relief to find a Parisian post-WWI ambience, adult clientele engaged in soft conversation, and music played discreetly in the background! No flat screen, no beer swilled around, no-one loud or misbehaving. The total bill was $80 which included 10% tip. Service was performed with excellence by the French waiters. (The only odd occurrence was a guy with a vacuum cleaner walking through the bar in shorts and thongs a couple of times, but that's a minor gripe. I hope that Le Passé Temps is here to stay. Superb decor, ambience, a fine range of wines and very reasonably priced food. A very different Newcastle experience! Bon chance to the owners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Passe Temps also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Le Passe Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing