We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Celebration at the Cantina”

Cantina Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #165 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When it comes to Mexican restaurants in Newcastle, Cantina is up there with the best. Get on down and try the Naked Burrito. The extensive menu has more choice than you could imagine, and even has a range of Italian meals and share plates making it the perfect restaurant for dining out. You can enjoy cocktails, mocktails and Margarita Monday's, where you get two Margarita's for the price of one.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration at the Cantina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again the Cantina was excellent. Everyone enjoyed the food and appetisers. Service is always fast and the staff friendly. Very good value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyandbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great with Kiddies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Cantina with our 2 year old and other friends two children. Meal's are great, no slop like some Mexican restaurants. We attempted the extra extra large desert which was served in a bath tub (almost that big), the kids thought that was great! Great Family friendly restaurant!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicchris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge meals & very yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The meals here are huge, so much infact dessert is never on the cards for afterwards. It's great service , my only gripe is it can often get packed out quickly & unfortunately they don't take bookings for groups under 10ppl & it's highly disappointing to miss out on a table here. I always have a chicken variety of some type, the food is fresh, with the alternate menu of Italian to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank Jannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here twice, most recently for my birthday last week. Staff are friendly, service is quick and the food is yum. There is mexican and Italian meals available.. Everything that we ordered was great. The corn on the cob was especially nice!

Helpful?
2 Thank Richardsonnswaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love Mexican and Margaritas tr Cantina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

There isn't anywhere better in town to eat a Mexican feast. The restaurant is open and air and the food delicious. Menu us comprehensive and drinks served cold and fast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeyImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Carrington, Greater Newcastle
Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Cantina Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing