We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great night out at Barrio”
Review of Barrio 2304

Barrio 2304
Ranked #32 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yet another great night out at Barrio”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Food great. Suitably priced. Friendly attentive service. Friendly, casual, neighbourhood vibe.

What else do you need? No surprise that it's busy.

It's tempting to keep coming back to taste all the options as every plate we shared was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just pure deliciousness”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been here a few times but never taken my fussy eating husband so I thought I'd share my food experience with him at Barrio.

We got a array of different dishes and the chicken skewers are my favourite and now they are my husbands favourite too.

The food is clean and fresh tasting and they have a good selection of seasonal food.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very busy and they handled it quite well.

We were sitting up the back , it was a hot night and the fans weren't doing much sadly or else we would have stayed a bit longer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capersoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful tapas”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Invited to a Hunter valley wine tasting at Barios seven wines - seven different tapas. Delicious .. I will be back to bring my son who has just returned from Spain. The Seafood Israeli cous cous was divine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleVickiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a great restaurant it was packed on a Wed weeknight but we were lucky to be given a spot at the bar for the two of us. Was a little disappointed that one of my favorite dishes (lamb cutlets) had already sold out but we did find other tasty dishes on the menu that were most enjoyable. Defiantly worth a second and third visit so you get to taste all of the dishes on the menu. Would be good to go in a larger group for this reason. (The banquet seems the go for this reason as well.If it is offered) Food was very well done, great flavors and at a reasonable price. Menu must change regularly as some of the food mentioned in other reviews was not on offer it was a small select menu but should suit all tastes a great find.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzcNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Barrios and it surpassed all expectations ..the food, the service, the atmosphere all worked its magic to ensure a fabulous food experience. We had a group of 12 and the staff recommended the banquet ( $35 pp) which was excellent value..the food kept coming and each dish seemed to surpass the next in deliciousness. The friendly, efficient service really adds value to the experience as well. We left feeling happy, satisfied and looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio 2304 also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Barrio 2304? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing