We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, fabulous coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of frankies' place

frankies' place
Ranked #154 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a daytime cafe in Newcastle that has been operating maybe a year or so. Great service, vintage decore, multi-cultural food choices, yummy cakes and fabulous Campos coffee. Very popular with Gen Y's
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, fabulous coffee!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The coffee at Frankies place is absolutely fabulous - I love it! The atmosphere is quite unique and the staff is very friendly. I particularly enjoy going there for breakfast. My favourite is the menemen - a Turkish scramble of eggs, tomatoes and peppers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank soot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Went downhill with new owners”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My partner and i used to make a 50 minute trek to this place every weekend for breakfast and amazing Campos coffee. It was our absolute favourite place! But since the old owners (who also own Enzo in the hunter valley) sold.... The service, food and even coffee has taken a turn for the worst. We gave them more than half a dozen chances to settle in and pick up their game, however it only seemed to get worse. The staff are un friendly and rude, and not attentive at all. The food is terrible and over priced and my beautiful campos coffee has been tainted. I dont know what they do so wrong to it, but last time i was there i couldn't drink it. I left after taking a sip. Worst cup of coffee i have ever had. So , to sum it all up... If you want a great experience, dont go here. Go to Cafe Enzo and i can guarantee you will not be disappointed!
- would not recommend Frankies to anyone

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Frankie's Breakfast”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Sitting here enjoying a great coffee and chatting to the gorgeous Irish waitress :-)

Loving the vibe here, think I found my new favourite breakfast haunt.

I'm coming back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had breakfast here on valentines day and had a great time, The food was really nice and they definitely knew how to make coffee. We sat on the balcony upstairs and the atmosphere is just great. Would go back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gretel L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flavour of the Month”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I try to pop in and out of most places on Darby St, but Frankies Place keeps drawing me back for more. There's the breakfast menu, the simply divine Menemen or the big breakfast with that gorgeous Hollandaise, just too tempting. Of late however I have been veering there for lunch too, and I have not been disappointed, the warm sambos are just bursting with great flavours. Most recently I had pasta here, and it rivals those great bowls you get in Rome, easy on the sauce, yet packing a big punch on flavour. Oh and best coffee in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Calypseaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed frankies' place also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Greater Newcastle, New South Wales
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to frankies' place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing