We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights (Fri/Sat) on a LastMinute.com.au deal which was for a harbour suite room with breakfast included. The room was great with a lovely view out over the water; we watched the tugs and cruise liners come and go. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of variety. The staff were friendly and we were thrilled to find a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room after we'd notified at booking we were there for our wedding anniversary. The room was clean and tidy. The location is great; the foreshore has been nicely developed with lots of places to wander along and eat. We had delicious take-away both nights; once from Lanna Thai and once from Blue Water Pizza, both within walking distance. There is street parking outside the hotel which is only metered between 9am-5pm daily so if you arrive late, like we did, and need to be out after breakfast you can essentially park for free. We will certainly stay here again if we are visiting Newcastle in the future.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne last weekend for our 10 year anniversary. We booked it on Wotif (secret hotel) so got it at a great price! Our suite was lovely, well layed out, two TV's, very comfortable bed/pillows and nice & quiet. Bathroom was good, but a bigger bath would have been nice. Location is great - the forefront is full of lovely restaurants (we ate at Larna Thai which was yummy) and walking along the wharf & taking in the sights is a great way to relax. We skiipped the hotel breakfast and ate at Jordon's Organic Cafe (Wharf Road) which was beautiful. Overall a great experience at the Crowne Plaza - although we found the parking very expensive, so we parked at Harbour Park Secure Parking (Argyle St) which was $11 for overnight (a few minutes walk along Wharf Rd).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debthommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I loved the rooms except no balcony - so to enjoy any outdoor space - which is worth the walk, I had to go past reception.
After staying here for business we had drinks and stayed again as a business party for 2010.
We traveled outdoors to another restaurant so I cannot comment on the restaurant in house.
I will stay here again as this seems to be one of the best hotels in Newcastle with walking distance to other areas to enjoy.
Water views are available.
Taxis can be easily booked from the hotel.
Staff are somewhat friendly.
Room was very clean and the bathroom was outstanding.
Suites have separate lounge to close off from main bedroom.
Parking is nearby for a cheap rate and with walking distance back to the front of the hotel. You can have your car parked for you for a higher fee. I did not try this when I first traveled, however on the return trip we used the hotel parking and found it very handy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Progress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Great spot. Because we had a pod on the roof of our vehicle, we parked in a Wilson's car park in the same street as the hotel. It was $8.00 per 24 hours. Was easy enough. The car park is beside a beautiful cafe which we did not go in. The hotel charges $25.00 for a full valet service.

DINING OUT: there are many options if you still have room to eat after the having the hotel's breakfast! One of the best I've had. You can walk along the 'board walk' towards the beach. We had takeaway fish and chips one night for $11.00 each in the park. That's at Scratchley's. On Monday nights you can get the delicious pizza special at BLUE WATER PIZZA on the wharf. We are NOT pizza lovers at all but these are gourmet pizzas and make sure you order one of their salads. Warning, they are big serves!

BIKE RIDING: We took our bikes and rode around the coast. Also, definitely worth catching the ferry for about $2.30 over to Stockton. Bikes permitted. The ride over there is lovely. There's a nice cafe too for lunch. Ferry leaves every 20 mins or so. Goes all day and into the night.

SHOPPING: When you exit the hotel lobby, walk straight ahead about 5 mins, over the train line, and you will be smack in the middle of town. We caught a bus to KOTARA Westfield, a huge shopping complex. It was about 15 mins away. If you are a shopper, you won't be disappointed!

GENERAL OVERVIEW: This is a very nice hotel to stay in. Make sure you get the breakfast included! Our suite was fabulous. It had two t.v.s. Beds were great. Kitchenette adequate. We liked being able to close off the bedroom from the lounge area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Superb stay - just spent one very enjoyable night at this hotel - wish we were able to stay longer. From the time we walked through the door on arrival to our departure everything was first class. Check-in at reception was friendly, efficient and very helpful with car parking. The receptionist immediately organised our luggage herself when it appeared the porters were busy. The room was an absolute delight - best layout of any hotel I have stayed in. It was like a one bedroom apartment without being oversized. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely sheets and just right pillows. Even though we were on the ground floor, we could see across the pool to the harbour and watch the ships and boats coming and going. Newcastle is a lovely place with its clifftop shore line and beaches - a very pleasant surprise as I thought it was mostly an industrial city. We will certainly be back to visit Newcastle and can't wait to stay again at the lovely Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenchtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihg123, Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Dear Frenchtraveller8,

We are extremelly please to hear of your great time with us. The view accross the harbour is one of the best in Newcastle and we look forward to having you back.

The Team
Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This weekend we went to Newcastle for a few days away and stayed at the Crowne Plaza. It is located right on the water with great views of a working harbour. The hotel is situated in the Honeysuckle development with access to lots of great restaurants. It is in easy walking distance to the centre of Newcastle or the eclectic collection of restaurants in Darby Street Cooks Hill.

The hotel is just next to the Lee Street wharf where we caught a cruise up the Hunter to Morperth. The cruise company (NOVA Cruises) also run cruises to Raymond Terrace and whale watching cruises off the coast. There is an antique market just around the corner and the hotel is just one block away from 'Civic'station at which the Sydney trains stop.

The hotels is very well maintained and we had dinner and breakfast in the Hotel's Breezes Restaurant. The food in the restaurant was simly served and the atmosphere very friendly. Overall the thing that sets this hotel apart was the service of the staff. They were exceptional friendly and really sounded like they wanted to help. The hotel has valet parking, is located next to a modern gym and has a lovely swimming pool which overlooks the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed Saturday and Sunday nights and was really impressed with this hotel. The service was the best I have had and included everyone from reception to waitstaff to concierge. I was particularly pleased with Sunday's concierge staff. I had left my glasses in the car after valet parking and the concierge (unfortunately I did not get her name) ran quite some distance to the garage, collected my glasses and returned them to me with a fantastic smile. All staff were friendly, smiling and attentive. I booked through the hotel's website and got a second floor room overlooking the harbour. Stunning views and always something to see with boats coming in and out. The occaisional loud ship's horn might disturb light sleepers. Good breakfast comparable to 5 star hotels. Apart from breakfast I did not eat other meals there - prices looked quite high in comparison to other restaurants on the waterfront and within 500m.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muzzamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $136 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing