We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great harbourside location, good rooms, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great harbourside location, good rooms, overpriced”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over Easter in 3 rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were generous, well maintained and 2 rooms had small balconies which was a great way to watch the harbour action go by.

Dinner at the restaurant was well above what we expected, delicious food and great service. Breakfast buffet was also well done - the kids pricing was a bargain at $12, the adults less so at $33.

2 major peeves, internet connection whilst complimentary was very patchy in terms of performance and constantly dropping out with horribly unfriendly reconnection process. Second peeve was the $29 parking fee on top of the already overpriced room rates that compared to 5 star capital city hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sydneyite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Sydneyite89, thank you for your review and feedback - it is important to us to identify the aspects of the hotel that guests love, as well as the areas to improve.

We are glad that you enjoyed our Seasalt restaurant for both lunch and dinner - a new 'Winter' seasonal menu is being released this week so if you stay over the next few months you can sample our new menu items!

I can understand your frustration in regards to internet issues - we find that different devices have different wireless 'strengths' and some can drop out. Next stay, if you connect using the ethernet cable in the room this will ensure your device has the highest connection strength.

For you next stay, please contact our in-house reservations directly on 49075062 to ensure the best room rate - there are great deals if you are happy to pre pay. Alternatively, a different room type may be suitable, as the King Spa suites from your last stay are our best (and highly priced) room type.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    437
    128
    26
    17
See reviews for
141
399
50
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As you step into the hotel, you notice how shabby and old it appears. This is supposedly one of the most outstanding hotels in Newcastle, but the only thing that stands out is the high price per night.
Even though the rooms are nice, the space is very small. I stayed in a one bedroom suite, it was one of the smallest suites I have ever seen. The restaurant is expensive, and with the many choices in the area, not worthwhile.
There is a very nice view from certain rooms. But you can see this without having to pay an exorbitant price by taking a walk along the foreshore.
The service is ok. Nothing worth mentioning.
Attractions are within walking distance and easy to see. Cabs are super expensive, there are plenty of public transportation (trains and buses). Newcastle train station is just a few minutes walk away.

All in all, this hotel is way too expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Get a room with the harbour view. It'll make paying this much a bit easier to swallow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nippet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boswell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear NippetP,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, all feedback is treated seriously and gives us an opportunity to reflect on what our valued guests see as important about our Hotel.

You are certainly correct that it is a very nice view of the Harbour from some of our rooms.

With respect to the size of the suites, all 175 rooms in the Hotel are 1 bedroom suites, something that we are very proud of as it makes us stand out from Hotels.

It is very unfortunate that the service you experienced was not up to our usual standard. Our staff pride themselves on delivering genuine service and I will certainly share your feedback that this did not seem to be the case during your stay.

Hopefully we get a chance to show you the service experience I know we can deliver if you ever do decide to stay with us again.

Best Regards

Daniel Boswell
Senior Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed just one night in a top floor suite. Room and whole hotel was spotlessly clean & staff where all very friendly. The room had a big bedroom but lounge was a little small. Ok for 2 but not if you where planning on it as a family room. Spa bath was great but shower was in the bath so stepping in was a bit tricky. There was a step and hand rail so ok for most but I wouldn't recommend it if you are a bit unsteady on your feet. Pool was fabulous, valet packing well worth the $20. The hotel is right on the harbour front surrounded but nice bars and restaurants and great evening views with all the lights. We stumbled upon an Italian restaurant called Bellini , it was wonderful, we had dinner there and it was so good we went back for breakfast!

Room Tip: Harbour view is great at night but it is a working harbour by day so not the prettiest,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your review Alex T,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the service and cleanliness of your suite and the hotel in general.

If you need to travel with family in the future, we can organise interconnecting rooms - 2 suites of the same size with a door in between. That way there is more space for a family, as you suggest.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future, to discover more of Newcastle.


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had three Harbour view rooms during our recent stay. We were thoroughly impressed with our whole experience from check in to check out. The front desk staff were cheerful and efficient and took care of every request. The rooms were extremely large, clean and well appointed. There is a separate bedroom, lounge room and kitchenette. The view was amazing overlooking the Harbour.
We ate dinner at the Sea Salt restaurant and were dazzled by the Chef's creations. The Chef even took time to say hello at the end of the meal. There was an impressive wine and cocktail list, with wine from the local region. The staff were again efficient and friendly. Breakfast was impressive with a large selection of food, with live cooking stations.
There is a pool and access to the local gym which is adjacent to the hotel.
We would highly recommend this hotel and feel it is the best hotel in Newcastle.
Well done to all the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threezacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling all the east cost and we stayed in different places every night. In a hotel like this, we knew it's going to have a great view but I was worried about the staff. As soon as we arrived to check in late at night, the lady at concierge was so welcoming and the most helpful person we met during the trip. We woke up to the best view in Newcastle. We will be returning again soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vipentertainments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Vipentertainments, thank you for your review - we are so pleased to have been a part of your exciting journey.

We pride ourselves on our service, and I can assure you that at any Crowne Plaza you will receive this high level of service! The Newcastle 'style' is genuine and welcoming - I am glad to see that one of our staff was a standout during your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed the one night over this Easter break and it's been rewarding. The Crowne Plaza is a few minutes walk away from the Civic train station which was convenient since I didn't want to drive over the Easter break. We booked a Queen City View room but given a nice upgrade to the city view corner which had a glimpse of the Honeysuckle Harbourside, a great little room with a small kitchenette sink and separated lounge and bedroom - similar to the other Crowne Plaza's, the pillows were a bit soft for my personal liking.

All staff were very warm and friendly throughout check in, the stay and check out. A big kudos to the team also for allowing us to keep our belongings in baggage so we could enjoy a nice brunch and one final tourist walk without carrying it around with us!

Hotel location is great with easy access to Queens Wharf, Hunter Street Mall, Darby Street and Honeysuckle Harbourside next door for bars, food and an IGA express! The evening views are also gorgeous.

I'll definitely be coming back to the Crowne Plaza Newcastle for my next getaway and would highly recommend you consider this Hotel if you're staying up in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Late check-out at 11AM is great - It doesn't hurt to ask the team if they can hold on to your lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirIIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Virllx, thank you for your review!

It's great to hear that even during a short stay of one night, you made the most of your time in Newcastle and enjoyed the hotel.

We try and do all we can to make your stay comfortable, interesting and relaxing. Storing your bags to allow you to explore the area certainly helped with this. We do have firmer pillows that we can take to your room - for your next stay, or at any of our hotels, please ask reception and we can organise this for you.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a Queen Harbourside room. The checkin was efficient and quick--valet parking took the car, and front desk was friendly and efficient. We were given a room upgrade to a very nice suite-separate kitchen/sitting room, and bedroom & bathroom. Best thing was the view right out onto the Honeysuckle area and the Hunter River & wharves. Lots of bars & restaurants within a couple of hundred metres giving all sorts of choice. After a difficult experience getting a coffee at one of those places ( sounds silly I know) it was nice to come back to professional service at the hotel and get a coffee with an Easter egg and a friendly smile. All up, a great place to base yourself in Newcastle with immediate access to the harbour and beaches

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Frans_12255060, thank you for your review!

We understand that when you arrive you're excited to start your stay and your relaxing time away from home. That's why we aim for a smooth and efficient arrival experience - from your comments we have achieved this for your stay!

One thing that we also understand is the importance of a good coffee! I'm sorry that your experience elsewhere didn't work out, but it gave us another chance to serve you!

Regards,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing