We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Newcastle Experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Newcastle Experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have a bias - we think Newcastle is a great city!

Crowne Plaza Newcastle is right on a working harbour that is not as glamorous or scenic as Sydney but absolutely fascinating. The ships are huge, close and surprisingly quiet as the tugs guide them in and out. Lovely walks along the foreshore that you share with polite joggers, cyclists and fishermen. Top beaches like Nobbys and Newcastle a 20 minute walk away. Did not try the nightlife or local restaurants but they are close.

We always enjoy Crowne Plazas .This one had good rooms, friendly efficient staff, nice pool, but room service meal and breakfast were ordinary. Always check for deals with Crowne Plaza regarding rates, breakfast and parking. ( Lots of options nearby if breakfast and parking are expensive.)

Room Tip: Harbourside rooms are best. Check out parking and breakfast options nearby if they are not included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you - we are also a bit biased when it comes to Newcastle!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here in our city. The harbour certainly is bustling, and our location right on the waterfront is perfect (especially, as you say, in a Harbourview Suite). It's a good idea to ask about package rates. They are great value, especially if you are happy to pre pay.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    404
    125
    26
    15
See reviews for
130
373
47
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 nights while on business. Have stayed here previously but this time my wife came with me. Rooms were good, a little bit dated however this was not an issue (apart from the shower in the bath which is pretty average nowadays), there was plenty of natural light, windows opened and the rooms were well maintained. Views over the harbour was great, beds and pillows were very cumfy, room was very quiet (apart from a ship blowing its horn at 5am one morning) and we slept like logs both nights. Pool was good and the hotel was located close to some good restaurants. Staff were helpful and very friendly, good breakfast - all up a good stay. Depending on the price you pay it can also be good value. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobar, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I can't believe how fantastic the staff are here. Once arriving I had my newborn baby, they immediately asked if I needed a cot and microwave. Within 5 minutes they were both brought to the room. We also contacted them for the number of the Japanese restaurant and they offered to print a menu off for us. I contacted them in the morning for more instant coffee and instead offered to make a latte and bring to the room. The staff are continually going above and beyond your requests and they all have a smile on their face. U can tell the staff enjoy their jobs and it makes our stay that more pleasurable

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you Kristy P,

We love to provide the special touch to make your stay memorable. I am so glad that you experienced the high standard of customer service we provide! We do enjoy our jobs, and it means a lot to us that you have taken the time to say thank you and provide your feedback - it shows our hard work is appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you next time,

Erin O'Brien
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My last review of this hotel wasn't the best so I'm happy to say this stay was much improved. Upon walking in I was warmly welcomed and checked in by the efficient Brooke. The staff all seemed much more lively and the atmosphere was lovely.

Breakfast again was of a high standard and the staff were friendly and quick to clear away unwanted plates.

Upon checking out housekeeping rang down to say I'd left some things in the room so Christopher happily raced up to bring down my belongings while I continued checking out.

The staff I encountered were all happy and friendly, it made for a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is clean and nice, the services are excellent. There is many bar and restaurants on the beach you can choose from. All is within walking distance. The food of those restaurants is a little pricy compared to the restaurant in Newcastle city, but you can enjoy the beach view which I think is worth the extra $.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiping R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The welcoming reception and lobby area which is very bright and manned by excellent staff is a good start when entering this property. I was upgraded to a harbour view suite and really it was a lovely experience. The room is a little old fashioned but well maintained 'tho' I am not sure why there is a kitchen as there are no utensils or cookers or microwaves to use should one wish to do so? The view is wonderful, right on to the harbour and one can almost see the look in the sailors' eyes as the tankers pass by right outside your window! Dining in the hotel is EXPENSIVE and really the breakfast at $33 is rather scandalous. No breakfast is worth that price! However in the evening one is able to make a choice for dinner and walk along the prom and find several cafes and restaurants. The general atmosphere in the hotel is happy and cheery and on a sunny day there is much to be said for this location. However once again I must say that the Staff and Managers do help to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: If travelling by train to Newcastle then alight at Civic Station, the hotel is a two minute walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you RalphSingapore66 for your review,

It's great that you made use of our convenient location near Civic Station! Thank you for giving this transport tip to other guests as well. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay and felt at home, and welcomed by our staff.

The hotel suites, as you have noted, have the potential for a kitchenette. We find that most of our guests don't require this, so upon request we can provide a microwave, cutlery and crockery free of charge. Please ask for this next time you stay and we will happily provide!


We look forward to welcoming you next time,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in a harbour view room in November 2013. Rooms have a lovely aspect with plenty of light during the day and are really well laid out. We were lucky enough to have 2 small balconies off our room which were very pleasant places to sit!

Staff are so friendly at this hotel and the views are gorgeous. Rooms starting to look a bit tired and might need upgrading soon. Could not think of a better location in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms on a high floor are the way to go - with a balcony if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you LondonSti11,

Our rooms certainly make the most of the open position on Newcastle Harbour, as you say allowing for plenty of natural light in the harbourside suites. I am pleased to be able to tell you that we are currently undergoing painting refurbishment in the rooms, with new lounges in all rooms in 2014. It is thanks to comments such as yours that we were able to identify this as an are to focus on.

Newcastle certainly is a lovely place to visit, and I'm wondering, (considering your name as LondonSti11) - did you get to visit the 'Lighthouse'?


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing