We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in a tremendous location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a tremendous location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here recently with my wife for two nights in a Harbourview one bedroom suite.

All staff were more than helpful, very polite and it was obvious they were keen to ensure everyone who stayed there totally enjoyed their experience - as we did.

Didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment about the food, though it did appear "top end" pricing.

If you choose to (offsite) valet park your car, just be aware that it may take up to approx 15 minutes to retrieve it during busy time/s, however with some basic planning ahead this is not an issue.

I'd be happy to go back here should the need arise, no worries at all.

Room Tip: Harbourside rooms are quieter with nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thestump1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    404
    125
    26
    15
See reviews for
130
373
47
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here for work, after organising meetings held both here and at another Newcastle venue. Staff were very helpful regarding the meetings which went off without a hitch. Breakfast was fabulous, the room was comfortable and well appointed and overall it was a great couple of nights. Location is excellent. As a company, we accommodated quite a few extra people here for the meetings and it all went well. The only downside was that when people changed their plans and rooms were no longer required we still had to pay for them, even a week out from the meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
KiwiKate55, it's great to hear from one of our conference guests!

We are glad to hear that the meetings went well, as it is our main goal that your stay is a successful one, and that you achieve all you set out to do. It's important that you are able to relax as well, and I'm glad that you were able to take some 'time out' in our comfortable suites!


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a more upmarket hotel for that really special occasion. The waterfront views are really something else at night, the service is A1 and the food was delicious. The rooms are big, clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room with a balcony is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you Sandi2324 for your lovely comments,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially for a special occasion! You sound like you experienced the special service that we strive to provide, and coupled with the views, food and spacious rooms it certainly does make for a treat.

Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Island, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went cheap with the lowest cost room special and still had an excellent stay. Location, a friendly and informative staff and a far better than average room all contributed. Sensibly the place has a deal going with the comprehensive Forum gym next door and the breakfast buffet was one of the best that I have tucked into in Australia. Two negatives: like so many Australian high end hotels WiFi is an expensive extra and parking is a problem unless you opt for the valet park. Tip: for dinner walk to the nearby waterside restaurants and hit the joints popular with the locals...but not the pub, it is noisy and has really awful food.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned about having ground floor. The views through the foliage to the harbour are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites with a balcony and view of the working harbor. The package included the full buffet breakfast which was very good. The location was excellent as was the service. The room needed a bit of updating, due to stains on the carpet and sofa. We traveled with friends (who also stayed in a suite), and overall we were all pleased with our choice. There were plenty of pubs and eateries within walking distance of the hotel. Attractions such as the beach and museums were a short drive away. If we return we will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
GEMWorking, you certainly have come far to stay with us, from Houston!

For this reason, it's even more rewarding for us that you enjoyed your stay. You made the right choice by choosing a Harbourview Suite, to take advantage of the position on the working harbour. I appreciate your feedback in regards to the room, and am pleased to say that we are replacing all of the sofas in the rooms next year.



Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is immaculately clean with beautiful interior decor. Staff are friendly and professional. The restaurant is beautifully situated serving up a delicious menu! Eating meals surrounded by pretty water views was lovely. The room was the perfect size, with a little sitting area, lots of windows and a water view also. Lobby was small but stunning. Great colour scheme throughout. This hotel was just perfect! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Mary S,

It's great that you could stay here for work, (for the conference) and still have a lovely stay. We work hard to make sure the hotel is immaculate and that the service and meals that we provide are top quality. It means a lot that you have taken the time to provide this great feedback - thank you!

We look forward to seeing you next time, for leisure!


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, my first time in Newcastle.
Beautiful area, good breakfast, very nice rooms with harbor view....but a bit pricey.
Car park is extra and a fairly expensive. ($28 per day) At least breakfast & the internet where included in the room price 
For the cost and standard this hotel is trying to set………..the outside pool should be heated (during non-summer months) and there should also be a hot tub. That all said……..the outside pool is one of the best lap pools we have encountered during our world travels. However, if you are trying to do laps……….small children can liter the lanes during the afternoon. The local management would be wise to split the pool into two areas……….at least at certain times.
There are many, many fine restaurants nearby and hotel restaurant was excellent for breakfast (lots of healthy choices) and lunch although they seem to have trouble keeping up with coffee requests during breakfast.
If you are coming here from Sydney, be aware that a train ticket from Sydney Central station to Newcastle is only about $13 and the train station in Newcastle is only a short walk to this hotel. We rented a car which was totally unnecessary and added a lot of extra expense.
Everyone was friendly both at the hotel and surrounding area and we did not encounter any bad experiences. Nobbie beach is just wonderful and I wished I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: City side view is cheaper, but you will not have the same experience. Ships move in and out all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Michael G,

It sounds like you had a lovely first visit to Newcastle - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly service that we provide.

We welcome your feedback in regards to improvements to the pool area. I can understand your consternation at not being able to enjoy the pool to the full extent, however we must be inclusive to all of our guests, including families with children. This is one of the reasons why we do not have a hot tub, as the pool area is set up for exercise and doing laps, rather than recreation as was disturbing you.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing