We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A nice experience!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pros- location, room and size, customer service, cleanliness, bitter choc tart!
Cons- there is a window between the bedroom and bathroom, pumpkin risotto was a bit bland and there was not enough pumpkin and pine nut.
Verdict: pretty good overall for $160 p/night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    433
    127
    26
    17
See reviews for
140
395
49
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The buffet breakfast was cold even though we arrived mid service. There was a good variety of food to select from.

The shower pressure was an attrocity and the bath was small, slippery and dangerous.

No utensils in the kitchenette.

Staff were friendly but require more reception staff to handle the rush periods.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnoisseurCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you c1ockwork for your comments.

Though unfortunate, your comments are welcome as they highlight the areas that we can improve that matter the most to you. I apologise in regards to the temperature of the buffet breakfast and the shower pressure. These areas are being followed up with the relevant departments.

For future stays, please contact in room dining for any requirements such as a non slip bath mat, cutlery, crockery or a microwave - we are happy to provide these complimentary.


Regards,
Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The service at this hotel is amazing! The welcome on reception was warm and wonderful. Check in was a breeze and all my questions were answered promptly and made me feel like a valued guest. The valet parking made life easy travelling with a baby. The Staff were awesome at recommending local attractions and dining options. We travelled to Newcastle for work but made it a weekend away and I'm so glad we did. The rooms are new and clean with great views of the port, wonderful seeing boats go past, my son loved it!
The buffet breakfast was delicious, hot and fresh, with lots of options and variety. Couldn't fault our stay, highly recommend staying here and we will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights from Friday night. Check in was fast and efficient and reception had my room ready by 9am as per my request as we needed to feed our baby. The room was on the 4th floor which was nice as it had a great harbour view and 2 balconies. The requested microwave was promptly delivered to our room. But then it went downhill from there. We requested for a cot, but it was not delivered to the room until a second request was made after we returned from our tours in the late evening. The room quality was good except for the stain glass balcony doors and the carpet which looked like it badly needs steam cleaning. Room service was good but missed the mark. The steak in the kids meal had a very strong burned taste on both occasions we ordered and the orange juice was expired. The kitchen staff were gracious enough to apologise and replaced the expired orange juice promptly but then this should not have to happen in the first place. The addition of a security guard in the wee hours of Saturday night was good in ensuring the safety of the guests but this should be on a daily basis - Sunday night included, as there are quite a few unruly teenagers on bikes who would intimate hotel guests. As valet parking is expensive at $28, we opted to park in the Wilson car park space at $4 a day just barely opposite the hotel. The downside of this is that we needed to insert coins in the middle of the night when the ticket expires. On the Sunday night, I was intimidated by a teenager as I drove the car upfront the lobby to request for a valet service having found the weekday Wilson parking rates to be expensive. As the hotel was locked from the outside and the doors were unmanned, I could not get in on time to avert his racial slurs. incident happened approximately 1240 am in the morning of 29 july 2013 and I would urge the hotel to review the CCTV footage and take appropriate actions. The reception was also unattended and 2 calls made were unanswered. When I finally did get in through the unlocked side door, I approached the bar staff who called the reception staff, who promptly parked my car. The security of guests should be a priority and the hotel should go all out to ensure that. Other aspects of our trip was good although Saturday nights can be quite noisy with the hotel restaurant booked out. Location is good as it is within walking distance to most attractions including restaurants on Darby street, the museum, the famous scratchley's restaurant and the tourist centre from which the free tourist shuttle departs every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 4th floor with harbour views as it has better views and is less noisy. The harbour v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Clarence17,

I am glad to hear that your check in experience was fast and efficient, and that we were able to organise an early check in for you - that would have been welcome when travelling with your baby!

I am sorry hear that you encountered issues throughout your stay that marred your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience caused. I understand that our Reception Manager, Rob Fahey, sat down with you and discussed your concerns in regards to the room condition and in-room dining quality.

I would like to confirm his response to you by assuring you that we do have security procedures here at the hotel that all staff must follow. We are following up with the relevant staff members on Sunday night as to why the reception desk was unattended and they were unable to attend to your needs straight away.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We come to the Crowne Plaza, Newcastle when we can - we love it! The service is always friendly and helpful - from housekeeping, to front desk, from valet to bar and restaurant... they really do make your stay special. The location is great a it is a great walk to so many different places to dine.

We enjoyed the live entertainment at the bar on the weekend, and found the buffet breakfast in the morning to be very well stocked and full of fresh lovely food. Great selection to chose from in the hot buffet, and the omelette bar is worth not only the food, but also a chat with the lovely chef!

The rooms are always great there. This time we stayed in a city view room - would definitely recommend the Harbour view rooms, however. Firstly because the views really are worth it!! Secondly because on a weekend the city view rooms can mean some noisy pedestrian traffic, as well as parties from opposite apartment buildings which can make for a restless sleep. The only downside is the shower heads make it very difficult to have a shower, as they have no pressure.

One regret is that they no longer have the Club Lounge room option. We used to book this package all the time, as it was a lovely way to spend the evening watching the sunset, but they no longer have this option. Would have definitely paid extra for that service!

Overall, we love coming here for a quick get away. The staff and the views really are exceptional. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Harbour View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducati_Girl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, GGuest Experience at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you Ducati_Girl848 for your loyalty!

We appreciate your lovely feedback and for sharing it with others. You have experienced what we hope is the standard service here at Crowne Plaza Newcastle - smiles and efficiency throughout all departments, with everyone working together to make you happy and relaxed. I can understand your concerns in regards to the water saving shower heads, however this is a part of our environmental policy in order to be a 'green' hotel and fulfilling our responsibilities to the environment.

I agree that the Harbourview Suites are the best option for the hotel, to make the most of our fabulous location and be sheltered from the city happenings. You have noted our live music by JJ King on Friday and Saturday nights - canapes also are provided in the lobby at this time, which is our supplement to the Club Lounge, which is no longer provided in Crowne Plaza hotels in Australia.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next getaway!

Regards,

Erin OBrien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a queen city view room with two friends (two in queen bed, one in sofa bed.) The rooms are beautifully sized with a kitchenette area and large bathroom as well as a lounge area with sofa bed and the bedroom. Amenities are what one expects from a hotel of this class. Live music in the lobby was great! The service, in particular, was great! Staff offered me my choice of point types for the stay (which I hadn't realised I could redeem.) They offered a 2pm checkout. And they played along quite perfectly with a slew of practical jokes we wanted to play non each other (there were 30+ people we knew staying there for a conference) without compromising confidentiality or guest comfort. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth-Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Regmarks,

I remember your conference group - It did seem like you were having fun! There's nothing better than hosting a group of people who are here to enjoy themselves while still being sensible. I'm glad that you appreciated the relaxed service and the live music in the lobby by JJ King, on Friday and Saturday nights.

As an IHG Rewards Club member, you deserve the extra time afforded to you by the complimentary late check out!


We look forward to seeing you next time,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Centrally located within the Honeysuckle and foreshore precinct, the location couldn't be better.
The room overall was clean and well laid out, the bed is only a queen which was quite soft and lumpy. My biggest disappointment was when paying in excess of $200 a night, you get a water saving shower head over a bath and a shower curtain!!! I had heard great things about the buffet breakfast at the Crowne but at $33 a head I was also a little let down. The service and staff were great. Would I stay there again.....probably not in a hurry, I would try somewhere else before returning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronnyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you BronnyB76 for your feedback - it is much appreciated.

I am glad that you enjoyed our lovely location on Newcastle Harbour, as well as our staff and service.

We strive to give you a relaxing and productive stay, and take our responsibility to you, our guest, seriously. However, we also have a responsibility to the environment and pride ourselves on our environmental policies here at the hotel. These include a rigorous recycling program, LED energy efficient lighting in the lobby, and OZHarvest food donation program. One of our 'Green' inititatives is water saving shower heads in every room. I do apologise if this caused you discomfort.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing