We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great weekend BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and great weekend BUT”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong this place is great, staff very helpful and professional but booked weeks in advance, asked for a room on the top floor with balcony. Got the room on the 4th floor, a lot of the view blocked as we were on the end block, no balcony and we were over the back entrance. Noise from fisherman talking all night on the wharf and noise from drunk party goers from a wedding which was held on the Saturday night did not go down well, hence not a good nights sleep as we like the windows open.
Loved the action on the harbour with the ships and tugs busy, great restaurants nearby and a great walk from the Crowne to Newcastle Beach and back.
Poor old Newcastle town is run down due to the focus on the wharf precinct, which is really great.Would definitely go back but really would like a room with a baclony.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a top room floor and a balcony definitely with harbour views. Activity on the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Coastie, we appreciate your feedback.

I can understand the preference for a balcony - with the hotel right on Newcastle Harbour. However, we cannot always fulfill this request. Most of our King Spa Suite rooms have balconies, so by booking this room type it is more likely that this request can be fulfilled.

We look forward to welcoming you next time - for your next booking please call us direct on 49075062 and we will ensure you get a quiet room and endeavour to accommodate your request for a balcony.


Regards,
Erin O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    440
    128
    26
    17
See reviews for
142
401
51
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex Inlet, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spacious room and very friendly staff.
Ideal location with views over Newcastle Harbour.
Wonderful harbourside walkway out front , lots of local restaurants
Tram stop at front door for interesting scenic tour by Lance who owns the Historic Newcastle Tram - well worth $15

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenflan-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice in two weeks for work and I had a great experience all around here. The checkin was great. The second week they even remembered who I was!

The rooms are nice. The beach location is great for a walk.

The breakfast has a very large selection and they even make omelettes. I had the French one with gruyere cheese and truffle oil. Yum!

Also, I had the rib eye steak on room service (twice) and was really pleased with it. It was honestly some of the best steak I have ever had. (The butter chicken was average, though, so it's probably about what you choose.)

Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the wonderful Crowne Plaza Hotel on Newcastle Harbour and we enjoyed it immensely. Our room was one of the 4th floor Harbourside King Spa suites with a small balcony off the living room. We were fortunate enough to strike four days (Friday to Monday) of glorious weather and woke up each morning to a shimmering harbour view stretching from the marina at the western end up to the harbour entrance and Nobbys Head in the east. Each day we were treated to the sights and sounds of the working harbour with a procession of bulk carrier ships and leisure craft moving around the port. Early on the Saturday, the Royal Caribbean cruise ship 'Radiance of the Seas' slipped into the harbour, making a truly spectacular sight from our balcony. More spectacular was the sight of her departure at 9.45pm that night with all lights blazing and music drifting across the harbour from her upper decks. Just wonderful. Back to the hotel....the king size bed was very comfortable and the super size pillows just right for a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the Seasalt restaurant was pleasant with great service and a good selection of hot food, cereals and fruit. Reception and Concierge staff were friendly and courteous and attended to all of our needs quickly and professionally. Overall, my wife and I rate the Crowne Plaza Newcastle as one our favourite places to stay and thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in unique surroundings.

Room Tip: 4th floor harbourside rooms are the pick. If you can secure one with a balcony, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Patrick, thank you for your glowing review!

We are glad that you enjoy staying here as much as we enjoy having you with us. You definitely chose the best room to experience the Newcastle foreshore - a King Spa Suite looking out over the harbour.

We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and family as a relaxing hotel and destination. We aim to showcase the best of Newcastle to all new visitors - and help returning travellers rediscover it!


Regards,
Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

An unusual but lovely hotel to stay at. We stayed in January 2013 in a 1 bedroom apartment with ocean view (apartment was a little on the small side). The highlight was waking up one morning to the sound of a very minor humming noise, looked out the window at the huge "Tampa" ship gliding right past the window, it was amazing and it was great to look out the windows and see the constant activity on the working harbour.
It was a bit inconvenient having to contact valet parking to retrieve your car when you wanted to use it but we did that only once as we walked everywhere else. It was also annoying to have to pay $28 per day valet parking (no other choice). We stayed at the extreme right of the hotel (away from Honeysuckle restaurants) and it was very quiet but a long, long walk from reception.
Just go downstairs to enjoy their pool and walk along the waterfront to the left for a myriad of restaurants or go to the right along the beach.
We did the Bathers Walk which starts at Nobby's Beach and continues to Mereweather beach and got the local bus back, it was absolutely fantastic with lots to see along the way (check Bathers Way on internet for more info).
Reception staff weren't knowledgeable about the local area and couldn't even tell how to drive to Hunter Valley! The Concierge (when he was at his desk) was great but not around often enough.
Would definitely stay here again, you can't get a better location.

Room Tip: Make sure you are prepared to pay $28 a day for valet parking and put up with having to order your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice hotel and in a great location, an easy walk to great eateries and the beach. Breakfast was included and it was fantastic, great variety and well cooked. The room was nice with a sitting area and a small kitchen. Due to a booking error on our part we ended up with a bathroom with disabled access which was fine except when using the shower it flooded the entire bathroom. Beautiful views from the room and we watched the cruise ship and endless boats come and go. Since it was our anniversary we got a free bottle of chmpagne which was a nice gesture.
I thought it was a bit on the expensive side at $300 a night and don't get me started on the wi fi charges!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Wendy F,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and enjoyed our breakfast selections. We are sorry for the issues you had with your in-room bathroom and if you were not satisfied with the rates. Prices vary depending on the dates are competitive within the area. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a single night stay.
Valet parking, though 28, was convenient and 24h! We booked a city room, but upon arrival put in a ground floor room overlooking the pool area.
The view to the pool and over the port was lovely- but there were constantly people in the pool, even from about 7am and it was very very noisy.
Also- in a ground floor room you hear a lot of plumbing noise!
There was a wedding on on the Saturday- beautifully set up outside- though the poor guests had to go through the pool area to get to the ceremony- including the bride!
Well located right on wharf.
Room itself gorgeous- we had a Kitchenette and living room-
And a separate bed room. We had 2 TVs and a bath!
No toaster though- which was frustrating!
Heaps of storage room and big windows.
Overall, although poor room allocation, a wonderful stay with excellent service!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treska-n-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Treska and Dave,

Thank you for your lovely review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle. We are glad that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms, convenience of valet parking and the service we provided. I hope you felt relaxed and rejuvenated after your special stay in our hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise on the ground floor room - in the future we can place you in a room further away from the pool, or overlooking the city of Newcastle. Harbourview rooms, though at a higher rate, are quieter as well. Please call the hotel on 49075062 when you would next like to stay and we will cater to your request.

We look forward to welcoming you next time,

Erin O'Brien - Guest Experience Manager
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing