We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Newcastle
Nearby Hotels
$165
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Novotel Newcastle Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$121
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Mayfield Motel(Newcastle)
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveler rating
437
474
140
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
474
140
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingthe crowne plazaworking harbourvalet serviceking spaseasalt restaurantseparate bedroomharbour viewhunter riversitting areawater viewsmall kitchenetteroom servicenobbys beachhotel restaurantwater frontshower curtain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
857 - 862 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the wonderful Crowne Plaza Hotel on Newcastle Harbour and we enjoyed it immensely. Our room was one of the 4th floor Harbourside King Spa suites with a small balcony off the living room. We were fortunate enough to strike four days (Friday to Monday) of glorious weather and woke up each morning to a shimmering harbour view stretching from the marina at the western end up to the harbour entrance and Nobbys Head in the east. Each day we were treated to the sights and sounds of the working harbour with a procession of bulk carrier ships and leisure craft moving around the port. Early on the Saturday, the Royal Caribbean cruise ship 'Radiance of the Seas' slipped into the harbour, making a truly spectacular sight from our balcony. More spectacular was the sight of her departure at 9.45pm that night with all lights blazing and music drifting across the harbour from her upper decks. Just wonderful. Back to the hotel....the king size bed was very comfortable and the super size pillows just right for a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the Seasalt restaurant was pleasant with great service and a good selection of hot food, cereals and fruit. Reception and Concierge staff were friendly and courteous and attended to all of our needs quickly and professionally. Overall, my wife and I rate the Crowne Plaza Newcastle as one our favourite places to stay and thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in unique surroundings.

Room Tip: 4th floor harbourside rooms are the pick. If you can secure one with a balcony, go for it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Patrick, thank you for your glowing review!

We are glad that you enjoy staying here as much as we enjoy having you with us. You definitely chose the best room to experience the Newcastle foreshore - a King Spa Suite looking out over the harbour.

We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and family as a relaxing hotel and destination. We aim to showcase the best of Newcastle to all new visitors - and help returning travellers rediscover it!


Regards,
Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

An unusual but lovely hotel to stay at. We stayed in January 2013 in a 1 bedroom apartment with ocean view (apartment was a little on the small side). The highlight was waking up one morning to the sound of a very minor humming noise, looked out the window at the huge "Tampa" ship gliding right past the window, it was amazing and it was great to look out the windows and see the constant activity on the working harbour.
It was a bit inconvenient having to contact valet parking to retrieve your car when you wanted to use it but we did that only once as we walked everywhere else. It was also annoying to have to pay $28 per day valet parking (no other choice). We stayed at the extreme right of the hotel (away from Honeysuckle restaurants) and it was very quiet but a long, long walk from reception.
Just go downstairs to enjoy their pool and walk along the waterfront to the left for a myriad of restaurants or go to the right along the beach.
We did the Bathers Walk which starts at Nobby's Beach and continues to Mereweather beach and got the local bus back, it was absolutely fantastic with lots to see along the way (check Bathers Way on internet for more info).
Reception staff weren't knowledgeable about the local area and couldn't even tell how to drive to Hunter Valley! The Concierge (when he was at his desk) was great but not around often enough.
Would definitely stay here again, you can't get a better location.

Room Tip: Make sure you are prepared to pay $28 a day for valet parking and put up with having to order your car to be driven around to the tiny front reception.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice hotel and in a great location, an easy walk to great eateries and the beach. Breakfast was included and it was fantastic, great variety and well cooked. The room was nice with a sitting area and a small kitchen. Due to a booking error on our part we ended up with a bathroom with disabled access which was fine except when using the shower it flooded the entire bathroom. Beautiful views from the room and we watched the cruise ship and endless boats come and go. Since it was our anniversary we got a free bottle of chmpagne which was a nice gesture.
I thought it was a bit on the expensive side at $300 a night and don't get me started on the wi fi charges!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as the views are great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Wendy F,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and enjoyed our breakfast selections. We are sorry for the issues you had with your in-room bathroom and if you were not satisfied with the rates. Prices vary depending on the dates are competitive within the area. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a single night stay.
Valet parking, though 28, was convenient and 24h! We booked a city room, but upon arrival put in a ground floor room overlooking the pool area.
The view to the pool and over the port was lovely- but there were constantly people in the pool, even from about 7am and it was very very noisy.
Also- in a ground floor room you hear a lot of plumbing noise!
There was a wedding on on the Saturday- beautifully set up outside- though the poor guests had to go through the pool area to get to the ceremony- including the bride!
Well located right on wharf.
Room itself gorgeous- we had a Kitchenette and living room-
And a separate bed room. We had 2 TVs and a bath!
No toaster though- which was frustrating!
Heaps of storage room and big windows.
Overall, although poor room allocation, a wonderful stay with excellent service!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Treska and Dave,

Thank you for your lovely review of Crowne Plaza Newcastle. We are glad that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms, convenience of valet parking and the service we provided. I hope you felt relaxed and rejuvenated after your special stay in our hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise on the ground floor room - in the future we can place you in a room further away from the pool, or overlooking the city of Newcastle. Harbourview rooms, though at a higher rate, are quieter as well. Please call the hotel on 49075062 when you would next like to stay and we will cater to your request.

We look forward to welcoming you next time,

Erin O'Brien - Guest Experience Manager
Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located on the waterfront, close to the main part of the city and generally a nice area to walk around. Staff friendly and public areas of the hotel were fine. Room was grubby and had lots of stains, dirty hand marks etc. Size of room was good but did not appear to have been renovated for some time as was showing signs of age. Was probably more like a Holiday Inn standard, rate was high as hotel was full mainly with those coming off or going on stints in the mines and thus was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Harbour view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you Ross,

We are very proud of our city and location on Newcastle Harbour, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed exploring the city.

I am sorry that the room you stayed in was not up to the high standards of cleanliness that we strive for. For your next reservation, please call us directly on 49075062 and we can make sure that you receive the best available rate, such as an Advance Purchase rate - to get you the most value for your money.


We look forward to hearing from you,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews