We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights recently and found the hotel and staff to be great. The location is excellent with many dining options on the doorstep. So why not 5 out of 5? First, the lack of crockery, cutlery and microwave oven in the room - even though it had space for all three. Second, I hate showers over bathtubs and this hotel uses very skinny bathtubs to boot - so there is not much room to move. Third, the windows open, which is great, but there are no insect screens on them. Finally, the aircon is either hot or cold, regardless of the temp you set it at.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJRACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

during my stay i found out that car was not parked under cover. That service was poor in the bar and breakfast serving staff quite rude. reception though were quite helpful. Overall the stay was ok but the few bad points could be improved if staff took pride in service.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karynw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGcare at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Karynw71,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I was pleased that you did find our Front Desk staff as helpful. I will follow up with the rest of the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

stayed here for one night in august, with my husband and brother who was visiting from the uk, we booked one room to accomadate three of us, as the rooms were rather pricey, so we had a room with a pullout sofa, which was fine, the room itself was rather ordinary, we had breakfast included which was actually very good, however being an early riser and not wanting to disturb my sleeping family i went down to the breakfast room and explained i was booked in for breakfast and would like a coffee whilst i waited for the others, i was politely told i would have to pay $4 for this, not happy, upon check out i paid $28 for valet parking, only to recieve my car as hot as an oven, again not happy, this hotel is rather overrated and i will not return unless there is a really special offer on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowgirlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great hotel, quality food,staff & room. Would highly recommend this hotel. Great location, quiet, relaxing, sizeable suite & great staff. Would recommend a harbour suite. We have stayed at many hotels throughout Asia and America and would highly recommend this hotel. One small gliche, cockroach dead on windowsill, however being on the harbour this can happen and did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was great, so nice to have a fresh juice and cappacino and not be charged extra.

Room Tip: Harbour view suite, worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser11sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed recently on business - being both a hotel guest and then presenting at a business breakfast as the keynote speaker. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience, the room was fantastic, very quiet, and very comfortable.

My only negative was the quality of the late night menu. Due to weather issues in Melbourne I arrived at the hotel well after the restaurant has closed so I was stuck with the after hours menu - it is really poor. I ended up ordering a pizza which I regretted.

I totally understand why they have a late night menu; I was disappointed with what was on offer - heck, I would have paid $15 for a lean cuisine meal if it was offered...

Overall, I'll be back. Really friendly staff, great breakfast, and a great location

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Spent last night at Crowne Plaza with my significant other for a bit of a romantic getaway - a whole 5 minutes from home. Had a Harbour View room which was spacious, modern and with great views. Ate in the restaurant which was fine - good food and service. The Crowne Plaza is pricey but is still probably the best option in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Thanks for a great stay, although stayed for just a few nights, everything was great all staff were helpful. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann4property
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $136 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing