We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Del Peco - CLOSED

Del Peco
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always have a wonderful experience when I visit, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant is immaculately clean and tidy. Fantastic coffee and excellent breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vile”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Vile is the nicest word I can use. Extremely over priced...$10 for garlic bread???. There are numerious good restaurants and cafes in Newcastle, but this is not one of them. I won't be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sadie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Downhill run”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have frequented Del Peco a few times before and had always had a wonderful meal. The waitstaff are always delightful and the decor is really nice although the food of late has been a let down. I have no idea what happened but the food hasn't been at its usual standard. I know that previous times I had been I was impressed from entree to dessert although lately has been hit and miss. I hope the standard picks up soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently dined at Del Peco after having a fantastic dinner there about 6 months earlier. After this experience we won't be returning.
I ordered a pasta dish which was laden with chilli and crunchy bits of garlic. As if that wasn't unpleasant enough the penne pasta was over cooked and fell apart. I can cook better pasta at home. My husband ordered a rib eye fillet medium well. It was bleeding all over the plate and he simply couldn't eat it. Besides that the steak was accompanied with lumpy mashed potato and a few asparagus spears. He thought the asparagus was the best thing on the plate.
While the restaurant itself has a great atmosphere and the staff are pleasant we can't recommend the food which is the reason for going to a restaurant in the first place. I sincerely hope they can improve the quality of the food coming out of the kitchen otherwise this restaurant is setting themselves up for failure. We won't be dining there again or recommending Del Peco to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went to Del Peco last night for a light dinner with my partner.
We weren't particularly hungry as we had just had a snack at a conference
so ordered a Chilli Prawn pasta to share and some bread.
We had observed the serving of the pasta neighboring tables were
consuming which appeared to be very generous, and thought that this would be an adequate amount to share.
The ingredients listed for the Chilli Prawn pasta included Chilli, coriander,
lime, garlic, asparagus, spanish onion.

The entree of Sourdough with olive tapenade, garlic confit and goats
cheese with balsamic was wonderful.

The pasta however arrived and was a very small serve and from the first
mouthful we could both taste sweet chilli sauce. Sweet chilli sauce was
not listed in the ingredients and the dish was named Chilli Prawn Pasta
not Sweet Chilli Prawn pasta. I spoke to the waitress and explained that
had we known that the pasta contained sweet chilli sauce that we would
not have ordered it. She spoke to the 'manager or chef' and returned saying
that at the bottom of the menu there was a note that not all ingredients are
listed adjacent to menu items. I explained that with the main flavour being
sweet chilli sauce that it should be listed or the menu item renamed
to 'sweet chilli prawn pasta' and that i understood that ingredients such
as olive oil or salt or pepper would not be listed however something that
was the signature flavour of the dish should be included as an ingredient on the menu.

The waitress offered to replace the meal and we agreed and ordered another
menu item and our meal was taken away, the waitress returned a few minutes later and said that
the chef had said that we would be charged 50% of the price of the new meal
because we had eaten part of the original dish, in which we had only consumed
one mouthful each. We declined. So we no longer had a main meal and paid the bill for the
meal we hadnt eaten.

It was disappointing as we believed it was false advertising and the fact that we
paid for a meal that we barely consumed. The waitress was wonderful, however
the body language displayed by the chef in the kitchen showing his irritation
was innappropriate and would make us not wish to return again.

I would think that from a quality establishment that a chef would not use a condiment
such as sweet chilli sauce as a main ingredient in a dish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghost1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Peco also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing