We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the beach and food, coffee's up and down”
Review of Swell At Bar Beach

Swell At Bar Beach
Ranked #399 of 565 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We cater for the whole family, for breakfast, lunch & dinner. So if you're in Newcastle or Port Stephens swing by Swell for a coffee & fresh muffin, a burger or freshly house prepared fish & hand cut chips - eat in or takeaway. Catch sight of dolphins or whales.....Have a surf, a swim, a walk along the coast or just watch the kids play in the sand while you enjoy a coffee and our great food!
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoy the beach and food, coffee's up and down”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I come here regularly and work very close-by. The owner is lovely and works there. Burgers, fish and chips pretty good. Coffee varies depending on the day but never really excels (if i have a coffee option i will go there e.g. Darby St cafes or The Junction). When the sun is out and wind is light its so awesome and in winter watching the whales pass, dolphins and surfers is so enjoyable for me. Sunny day or pleasant weather, its nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    4
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burger heaven”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The reviews on here already are saying most of it for me. The burgers here are brilliant and have been very fast both times I’ve been in. My go to burger place when I’m in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel82_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic but good food and great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Tried this kiosk yesterday. It is not the most modern of kitchens but the food was very good. There is only outside seating so in bad weather it would be no good.

Chips and coffee are great. Take away food only.
The view is spectacular as it is only metres away from the surf. Plenty of parking available and they will even bring your order up to the car if you phone your order through.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are in Newcastle, worth stopping by!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stunning views, crunchy chips and nice burgers. Great spot to spend the afternoon.
I usually come to Newcastle for work and today was the first time I came across this place (thanks to tripadvisor). Definitely will stop by next time I am here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugarStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BEST CHIPS IN TOWN”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Refer to title. They really are the best and the burgers are great as well. On a nice evening its one of the best places to grab a casual bite and listen to the waves rolling in (and the seagulls fighting for your grub.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank daveyboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell At Bar Beach also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Wickham, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Swell At Bar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing