We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Bisbee
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stunningly expensive for a budget style accomodation. $159 for 2 people +$12 parking +$24 Internet.
I like Ibis and stayed in them all over Europe but prices were more like $80 with free parking and Internet.
Room was clean but the hallways were grubby/musty smelling.
Run down area - grafitti everywhere and lots of empty buildings in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BZBDEWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    311
    188
    57
    36
See reviews for
104
252
94
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urunga
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2011

For the price this hotel was very good, small rooms with very compact bathroom but adequate for 2 people. Breakfast was very good again for a reasonable price using advantage plus card. Service was good all round. Carparking was supposedly secure but anyone who gets in a car can leave without requiring an access card/code etc, considering we had to pay $12 per night this was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanUrunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your response. It is great to hear you found the Ibis Newcastle good value for money, you received good service and enjoyed your breakfast.

We do have off street parking available behind the hotel and we do charge an additional $12.

Regards,

Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Reception service was good, location was walking distance to Darby and waterfront. However, an average stay- tiny rooms with cruise ship cabin sized plastic bathrooms, and dust all around the pull out bed, this bed was extremely uncomfortable- have 2 teenagers but 13 year old taller than adults, so I slept in this long box and could hardly turn due to the "box" walls. Airconditioning unit not working in first room we were given and unit looked like it was about to fall off the wall. However, was swapped to another room very promptly. If noise prevents you sleeping, then don't book here, as it is close to the railway line.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyTwitchyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Ibis Newcastle. It is fantastic to hear you found our hotel in a handy location and you received good service from our staff.

The Ibis Newcastle delivers the Ibis ethos of being centrally located, simple and modern. Our bathrooms are compact and have toilet, shower, hair dryer, wash basin and all toiletry supplies provided. It is disappointing you found dust in the room and please rest assured we will be taking action with our housekeeping department to ensure this does not happen again.

When you are next in Newcastle we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards
Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangrove Mountain, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The room was advertised as usual rate $268 but I paid supposedly 25% = $69. I thought I was getting a $268 room. It was terrible, so bad that my partner didn't stay for the entire 4 nights, and went home so he could get some sleep!
Never again will I be tempted by your false advertising

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountaineer977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your above review. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Ibis hotels are developing a worldwide network of ideally located, simple, modern and friendly hotels.

Our room rates vary according to seasonality, sometimes there are good deals in the market and other times we charge full price. All our hotel rooms are the same and we offer all the facilities expected of a 3.5 star hotel which is our AAA rating.

I would be more than happy to discuss further, if you are able to contact the hotel please ask for myself and we can talk through.

Regards,

Scott Grant
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Property: Ibis Newcastle
Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing