We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle IBIS”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Newcastle is a great place to visit. The Ibis Newcastle is well located and in good walking distance to many attractions. You can then take the train back two stations from the city centre. The Ibis is guaranteed value and good facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 705 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

To start with I thought the room was just grubby, but as my stay progressed I realised it was filthy.

The bathroom & fridge need to be cleaned.
I found the back of the room service menu had been used as a plate by previous guest & was covered in gone off salad.
I found a milkshake bottle under the bed, fermenting well.

I raised this after the first night & no action was taken. & I just got an apology when I checked out.

I have been travelling for over 6 months & this was the most unclean hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dave6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dubbo
1
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Yes the stay in the Hotel was good but I wasnt very happy when I arrived and was told that I had to pay $12 on top of my room for parking my car. When I booked the hotel I booked as it was a good price but it didnt say anything on the booking form that there would be a $12 fee for parking. Probably if I had of known I wouldn't have stayed there. If hotels say on there web site they have parking they MUST make it clrar to the guests that it is extra if they are going to charge for it. Other wise I was happy with the room and service of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
2
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Basic accommodation but handy for our purposes. Restaurant was being renovated which was an inconvenience but enjoyed good food & service at Mecure Hotel down the road which was an alternative whilst renovations were happening.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
sydney
2
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great stay, thank you to Rebecca (AM) for all her help in organising our rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Coffs Harbour
2
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed with my 12 year old and two other mums and kids, each family with a twin room. Check in quick and friendly, rooms small but clean and perfectly adequate - funny modular bathrooms made us feel like we were in a boat, but good shower and all the usual shampoo etc. Hotel restaurant undergoing renovation but they had the courtesy to let us know a week or so before and to recommend where to go for dinner - basic breakfast provisions were provided in lobby. The area is a bit dodgy tho clearly up-and-coming - lots of building and remodelling going on around. Easy walk to the new dockland dining precinct, wouldn't walk around late at night, but we were sleeping like babes in comfy beds by then. Check out quick, friendly and efficient, close to cafe areas - we were happy!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane
11
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Not the standard we have come to expct from Accor. We would not recommend this hotel to others, especially friends, there is much that needs improve.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $76 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing