We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Ibis Newcastle West”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well positioned hotel and general value for money.
Staff professional & attentive.
Room adequate and looked clean.
Areas for improvement:
1. No cooling cycle operating on the air conditioner on a hot night.
2. Upon return to hotel around midnight, there were no car parks left. We had paid for a park, so parked in a reserved spot.
3. A cockroach crawled out of the bathroom!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 705 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great hotel. Check in was rather hectic as it was a slow process and many people were waiting. Also there is no convenient entrance from the car park to the hotel which was difficult with an injured foot and our luggage.. and waiting in line. Aside from this it was a really clean hotel, the staff were friendly and I had no dramas at all. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mystygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. The bathroom pod surprised me however it was clean and workable. Ample parking available and close enough to town to walk or catch one of the many busses that pass by the door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank daisyaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good value. Rooms small but comfortable and clean. Service good and staff very helpful. Just two minor points that make for less convenience (1) No restaurant service at weekends (2) Not enough car park spaces when hotel is full and had to find an alternative even though there was a nightly charge on the bill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is clean, meals are good, no complaints about the service or location, The only thing I think sucks, is you have to pay to park your car in the Hotels own carpark, should included in room costs like all other hotel/motels

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank janmiller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Can't complain too much as I just has a one night stay for business. The room is small and the bathroom looks like it belongs in a campsite. The only places to eat nearby are KFC or Pizza Hut. The window of the room didn't close properly and all the smokers seemed to like smoking right outside my window. The plus side was all the staff I interacted with were lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Nat_in_viaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

On arrival in the room there were ants through out the bathroom and bedroom, lots of them. The carpet is almost worn all the way through to the floor. Do not stay here it is a dump. If you do don't let them give you room 303.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GydayGyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear GydayGyday,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the ibis hotel in Newcastle.
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to express my apologies.

To find insects in the room is not acceptable and as soon as it has been reported we have addressed the issue to avoid any future occurrence. Whilst we do everything to avoid insects coming inside our hotel walls we will not be able to 100% avoid it. Future improvement on the interior of our rooms is planned and will start with the installation of the brand new ibis "My Bed" in March.

Again thank you for this review and giving us the opportunity to improve on our services.

Kind Regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $76 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing