We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveler rating
111
339
207
62
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
339
207
62
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelbathroom podhunter streetroom was cleanshort staybreakfast was includedper nightwould stay againeasy accessqueen bedconvenient locationreception staffsaturday nightprefabhoneysucklecbdproximity
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 761 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Firstly the air conditioner did not work but this was fixed, then they did not receive the digital channel that we had specifically stayed to watch. Dealt with Dane, the some time manager, who was unbelievably rude, as he had been on our previous stay, when they had no sparkling wine available, even though it was stated many times on the drinks list (and they were within a few minutes walk of a botttle shop). Even though it was stated in the room that if they could not fix any problem within 15 minutes, they guaranteed to give you a related service for free. When I mentioned this to Dane he incredibly stated that no, that only applied to things they could fix within the 15 minute time limit. In other words there was no point to the guarantee whatsoever. When I got fed up going round in circles talking to him, I said 'that's fine, I'll write what you've said online' he rang back a few minutes later to say we were being 'kicked out'!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank cary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear cary7,

Thank you for writing this review and giving us your feedback about your stay.

As mentioned in your other review previously we have taken your comments about the TV channels and the stock in house very seriously and will ensure that we do have in stock what we advertise on our menu and the TV provider will look into solutions to extend the channel selection.

As I mentioned before in regards to the eviction I will not explain on a public forum why the step has been taken, the reasons have been explained to you personally.

Kind regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms very small, dingy and dirty. Very noisy old room fridge and a lot of noise from adjoining rooms. Foyer phones out of order. The service is average - hand towles not provided and told not available when requested. Overall impression was a hotel that was unkept with staff that didn't care much and of the opinion that everything was fine just the way it was. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merenwen_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ibis offer a budget stay in a small hotel. 4 floors only here and outdoor parking.
Corridors were not air conditioned so very warm when outdoor temps hit over 30.
The rooms are clean, tidy and air conditioned. Comfortable stay for a reasonable price. Food served in restaurant was lovely - but they had totally run out of bubbles! Not cool!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a nice clean Hotel provided VFM. checkout slow but OK in the end.....would stay again. This is clean and functional as a hotel w
We stayed just one night with friends travelling towards Sydney on our way from Brisbane

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews