We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    296
    177
    55
    35
See reviews for
100
242
93
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We often stay at the Accor properties and we chose this Ibis as we had a function at Merewether. The room offers a bed, mini fridge, shower, TV, clock radio, phone, in room coffee/tea facilites, a small closet to hang clothes in, a full lengh wall mirror and even and iron and ironing board. The Ibis chains are gradually upgrading and standardizing the types of beds and pillows you will find in the room. This particular hotel had had recent upgrades to the beds and we were pleasanty surprised. Very comfortable! The pillow even felt quite nice although I do like to travel with my own form fitted one so cannot say how they were comfort wise. Although the hotel is on a main road it was was not too noisy. It is convenient and close to new shopping centre, restaurants and night clubs. There is parking available for a fee or there is parking on the road if you wish to park there. The staff at checkin and at the restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. We found out breakfast was included in our room rate which was a nice bonus. Both cold and hot food were served and a Nespresso machine handy to help with the morning caffine fix. A free newspaper was also available if you wanted it. If we were in a position of looking for accomodation again when staying in Newcastle we would stay here again as it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor in the back of the hotel facing the train tracks. Found it to be quite q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was a satisfactory hotel for the price. Room and bathroom a bit small but all facilities and services functional. Hotel restaurant quite good. Food choice and quality and service of a good standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnXXX000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I found the hotel to be adequate for one niight given that i was simply in Newcastle for an evening event and just needed a place to sleep.

Staff wre fairly friendly and helpful and the bed was pretty comfotable.

As an Advantage Plus member I git a good rate so no real complaints.

The room was basic and fairly small which is what I expected given the hotel is an Ibis and they tend to be a budget hotels however, what I could not get over was the tiny cheap bathroom which was pre-fab and gave the feeling of showering in a porta-loo.

Fo a single night's sleep the hotel does the job but for any more than that you would probably find it a bit small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkVan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A basic hotel but that was just what we needed...
The staff were super friendly and on the ball if there were any issues regarding the room or parking, They had good knowledge of the area and if there was anything they weren't sure about they googled then and there (there are alot of hotels that wouldn't do that).
The ipod alarm clock and the shaver outlet was a bonus esp when I had forgotten my charger and adaptor for my camera battery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Property: Ibis Newcastle
Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing