We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small roomed hotel in middle of town”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“small roomed hotel in middle of town”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed before at IBIS newcastle, the rooms are small but clean, restaurant have good meals at a pretty good price. thought the breakfast was a bit ordinary but otherwise all good. Parking very cheap at $12 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salesrepman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    308
    184
    57
    36
See reviews for
104
249
93
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The man on reception was friendly and helpful giving us a map of the area and info on local buses and places to go. Our room was small but had everything we needed including an iron and ironing board. One great addition was a combined alarm click/iPod docking station so we could charge 2 iPhones at once. The bathroom was tiny but had a walk in shower and complimentary toiletries. No complaints about this hotel, would definitely book here again and no hesitation to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a different hotel, although the staff are very helpfull and well mannered the rooms are one of the smallest that I have stayed in with the lack of storage space and not much room to relax after the day. The bathroom looks like a portable bathroom placed in the corner of the room with a step up into it after saying that it is very modern and different. The lobby reception is to close to the bar so the noise factor is not relaxing and the bar lounge if you can call it that also it doubles up as the restaurant with its plastic chairs and unsuitable tables instead of comfotable lounges and coffee tables, would I stay here again, I would say no.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for a room high up with a glimse of the river, industrial as it maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Regularly stay here as a stopover, when we re looking for a basic facility.
Check-in took a while, there was some wrestling with the computer system.
If dine-in was better we wouldn't have to go next door to the takeaway for an evening meal.
Checking out was much better and reception manager most helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a slightly dated review. I travelled to Newcastle on business and stayed overnight in late September. Finding the hotel was a breeze as it is on the main drag. The receptionist was so courteous andbwonderful that it belw me away right there and then. The room is a bit on the small side as others have mentioned but was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bathroom was a bit like a cruise ship bathroom. Again clean and tidy but a bit small and cramped. But to be fair, it was an updated bathroom and everything looked new, save for some mild mold on the shower cubicle. Also, the bathroom is a pre-fabricated capsule which meant that it was on a raised level from the room floor. Might be an issue if you are aged or have knee joint problems.

The room had a smallish window (think cruise ship outside cabin) and the bed was comfortable and the TV worked fine.

Tips:
Ask for directions to the wharf behind the hotel and you will plenty of restaraunts and bars to eat and be merry on a weekend. Additionally, there is a pizza hut and a KFC next door to Ibis and you could easily bring back some takeaway dinner to your room. Hunter Street itself has a few resturants but the prices at the Thai takeaway was eye wateringly expensive. Thank you for the wonderful male receptionist who gave me some steel cutlery to have my takeaway meal in my room.

Just a block away is a Big W, Woolworths and Coles complex where you can stock up on just abut anything you need. At the end of the road down from Ibis is the Ocean with beach front access. You cold walk if you are in the mood or drive down which will take you less than 4 minutes.

I would to hesitate to stay here again on business or a weekend getaway with the family. If you are looking for comfort and luxury or staying for a week or longer, Crowne Plaza or the Novetel might be your best bet.

Room Tip: Ask for room which is reasonably high up. The train track run right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel in Hunter Street, very central. Close to shops - 5 min walk, beach 5min drive, restaurants nearby. Price is good , rooms small and compact but tasteful and new, Great for single or couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
991 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Property: Ibis Newcastle
Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing