We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really small and cheap”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I am really struggling to say something nice. The room was dirty, tiny and has weird pod like bathrooms. The quality is summed up by the fact that they didn't bother to carpet under the beds. I guess the tv is a good size for the room...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doujes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Dujes,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Hotel Ibis Newcastle. Ibis hotels are designed for the basic needs of every guest we operate as a standard accommodation provider and can therefore offer our rooms for a little less the money. I am sorry this experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Sincerely,

Thomas Klotz
General Manager
ibis Hotel Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 693 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietd17
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Be ready to experience an unusual and simple 'away from home' experience with all the necessary requirements at hand, but not in your face. Located on the fringe of the City also be prepared to walk if you need things. This is the best way to find your way around.

Hotel staff will always be there to assist. If you need something then ask for it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Brisbane
1
Reviewed August 8, 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Forster
1
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A good welcome with pleasant and knowledgeable reception staff. The location is not very good - you know where it is but you still come upon it very suddenly and almost drive past! Breakfast was excellent but the dining room lacked atmosphere. Nevertheless I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was booked to stay at the Newcastle Ibis on the same date but my flight was cancelled and I was redirected to Sydney. The lady at reception was extremely helpful not only when I had to book the room that evening but also rang Newcastle Ibis and cancelled the other booking. I was very impressed with her friendliness and helpful attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
wollongong
1
Reviewed August 2, 2011

staff very helpful at front desk rooms bit small air con too noisy otherwise nice comfy bed mattress nice and firm no lumps n bumps was impressed with large shower location was perfect for dining out within walking distances to clubs

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $83 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing