We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was Really Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Monde Chocolateria

Coco Monde Chocolateria
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Was Really Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went there with a colleague and really ejoyed the esperience. The Milkshake was made with real chocolate, the meals were a decent size I had teh chicken pictured below and it was delicious and I was doubting whether to have dessert but opted in and had the Sticky Date Pudding. Was yum.

Overall I really enjoyed it and so did my colleague.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    66
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newcastle nsw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Soooo tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Undoubtedly the best risotto I have ever tasted! Accompanied by a lovely glass of pinot gris this was a great casual dining experience. Service was great- will definitely be back and can highly recommend :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food needs balance.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I had the Jaffa brûlée, my husband had twice baked chocolate cake. We left a bit disappointed ( my husband feeling a bit sick) even though we both ate only half of our servings. $value? They were so rich in my opinion ceased to be pleasant to eat. We are sweet tooths normally and have been here before. It seemed as if things are richer than 12 months ago!.. I would recommend a more generous serve of ice cream to go on the side of these desserts ...or cut back on the rich ingredients a little. A hint of something is sometimes better than being overloaded with it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piperbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a high tea booked for a works Christmas party. We all are very busy people and really enjoyed the quality of service and friendliness of staff. The waiter on this occasion was fantastic and couldn't be more helpful with anything that we asked. The food was all of good quality and tasted amazing. This is definitely somewhere I will be coming back to again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lfed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Four of my friends and I went to coco monde for some tea and a bite to eat. Two of us didn't want anything to drink and because of this a female staff member quite rudely told us that we were not welcome to stay. I've been a loyal customer and have been going since the day coco monde opened and have never experienced such a rude service. My friends and I left as we felt extremely uncomfortable and we will definitely reconsider coming back again
Another waiter attempted to clarify what his co-worker had intended to say to us, he said that customers who do not order anything are not welcome as they take up seats that other potential paying customers could use. Although I can understand the need to encourage paying customers, at the time the restaurant was fairly empty and we had intended to order food to share between the five of us.
Regardless of the amount of people in the restaurant turning people away discourages repeat customers, and in the long run decreases any businesses customer base.

Helpful?
1 Thank cfid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Monde Chocolateria also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Coco Monde Chocolateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing