We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a family room on New Year's Eve in one of the last available rooms. As a result we were on the city side on the second floor. We were still able to view the midnight fireworks display from the balcony (after viewing the 9pm fireworks in the park). An easy walk to town and restaurants.

The room was adequate - when in such a lovely city, who wants to stay in the room anyway....
just watch out in the slippery shower / bath!

Nice room service breakfast on New Year's Day, a short walk to the beach, and a swim in the ocean baths - such a nice way to start the year.

We were able to pay $20 extra to allow us a 12 noon check out.

Would stay there again - but next time I will look for a better deal.

Room Tip: Please be careful in the shower / baths! The suction mat slips and can be extremely dangerous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    209
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
64
169
13
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently stayed for 5 nights for half business , half pleasure purposes. The room was clean and affordable especially given the festive time of year, I thought $176 pr night quite reasonable even if the room didn't have an ocean view. I was surprised to find an additional single bed, as well as the double we occupied, however the room was quite small and had a musky smell to it on entry as you'll find in most dated buildings with little ventilation. It's in a great location across the road from the beach, Darby st is a 5 min walk and there are quite a number of up and coming eateries within walking distance. Customer service was fine, if not a little odd, a little note that customers such as myself do take notice when concierge is taking a call and pulling facial expressions when answering the persons queries down the line.... that being send I'll stay again for my next business trip most likely but will keep my interaction with hotel staff to a minimum, as they didn't add any real value to my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in December, due to being in Newcastle on business.
Having read some of the other reviews stating "dated" "needs refurb etc", I suppose in some ways I would have to agree. The only way I think you would effectively do this is with a bulldozer.
But, having said this, I really liked the slightly faded glory and the fantastic view from my balcony of Newcastle Beach. The restaurant / breakfast room also has the most sensational view over the beach. Great spot to enjoy your breakfast!
This area is fast being built out with very expensive apartments and I would suggest that the appointment with the bulldozer is probably not that far away. I think that day will be a sad one for this great part of Newcastle. Do yourself a favour and spend a night or two at Noah's before that day inevitably comes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Renovated? Renewed? Refurbished?
This property is extremely outdated.

The bedding was absolutely terrible!! This is my favourite part of the 'hotel experience' and I will now visit a chiropractor. The entire bedding experience felt like a MOTEL.

The rooms are not designed or presented with pride!! Small, grubby and the balcony is a large window.

The bathroom size is embarrassingly small and dirty. The staining on the white tiles could use a bleach at the very least!! And the blue non slip mat...I cannot explain the lack of luxury.

The view is amazing!!! If you do stay at the property ensure you visit Jonahs the restaurant on property the service and food is delicious!

90% of the hotel guests were very elderly and I believe the rooms are suited to this guest. If you want a modern or luxurious getaway... GO ELSE WHERE!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Industritraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Found this hotel very convenient. Short stroll to the beach, hunter st shops and harbour.
Room was clean, although bathrooms could do with a make over.
Did not eat at the hotel's restaurant (which has a fantastic view of the ocean) but found the menu very pricey.
Parking area could do with a bit of rework. No priority for undercover car space for hotel guests, as restaurant guests can also park there. But this is a small issue.

Overall great experience!!

Room Tip: Mid level ocean view is better. It is only a 6 storey building, i did not think living a level up wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Our room had a spectacular view of the beach and ocean.
We stayed one night, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
We will stay again one day following dinner in Newcastle for our work Christmas party.
We look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ta55hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaziers Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel virtually on the beach. Food in Jonah's for dinner was good quality and plentiful. While the room was fine and clean, I did think the bathroom could be retailed with some cracked tiles and dirty grout, but it was at least clean. Also, the parking needs work. It was pouring rain yet I had to park in a vacant lot next door.
Otherwise it's a nice, neat little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Address: Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is situated directly opposite spectacular Newcastle Beach and is Newcastle's only Beachfront Hotel. NOAH'S offers the perfect place to beach yourself for business or simply to relax and unwind. Located within minutes of the CBD, harbour and city shopping, Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is the ideal venue for any wedding, conferences and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Quality Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing