We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special in Newcastle”
Review of Mason

Mason
Ranked #12 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
newcastle, australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“special in Newcastle”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

fabulous food. Good service. A special place for a celebration dinner. this place has a growing and deserved reputation. The menu changes regaulry and offers something a little different for Newcastle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    78
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Getting better all the time”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely couple, excellent young chef, really lovely decor, a beautiful place to enjoy an excellent meal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to try partly because of a recent write up in The Herald, saying chef had worked at Ledbury in Chelsea UK. As we have visited there, we had high expectations of Masons and we were not disappointed. Gnocchi to die for! good service in spotless venue. Malt ice cream was superb dessert.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank franrOd-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, staff and food.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had lunch at Restaurant Mason with friends recently. It wasn't very busy, which is a shame to see. The decor is lovely - much nicer than it was when it was Atlas previously. The waitress was lovely and very attentive. I had the pork belly main and it was beautiful. A friend had the chicken breast and another had a salad. We each thought the food was lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic restaurant but no air conditioning or fans to circulate the air”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We dined at Masons and had the degustation tasting dishes. The food was absolutely delicious. The meals came out at a leisurely pace (but not too slow) so we didn't feel rushed. The wine menu was great, we had two fantastic wines. The wait staff were great, very attentive but not hovering in any way. The one big disappointment of the night was that there was no air conditioning or fans to circulate the air. The night we dined at Mason was particularly hot, with only an intermittent light breeze. The air in the restaurant was stifling and really did make things uncomfortable for not just us but the other diners. The wait staff moved us to a table near the door which helped to catch the light breeze. There were tables outside but as well as hot it was stormy with light rain so outside was really not an option. I would love to say I will go back for the delicious food and great wait staff but definitely not in summer. Very disappointing to be so uncomfortable dining in such a great restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing