We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a tender steak”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #414 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: American, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a tender steak”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Lovely tender steak as always at Hog's Breath.
Friendly and attentive wait staff.
Prices are up there tho.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    47
    35
    27
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ratchy”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just has lunch here today.
Food was fresh I'm happy with my meal but my husband was complain about his burger was only 2 pieces of bacon .
But when waitress came we complain about that, she was happy to give us more but we nearly finish .
So, we didn't want it.
By the way, I'm happy with my meal
And staff.

Helpful?
Thank Ratchy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the hogster!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Love hogs breath - attended Newcastle restaurant recently with my family and it was wonderful. Meals were not expensive but big and really tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greasy burnt mess”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Look trying to find anything positive about hogs breath honey suckle newcastle is going to be tough. It was the worst food I have ever had. I can't even give a positive about it. I will never eat there again. Ever. The food was. That bad. That the sea gulls would not even eat it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“average eclectic dining”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

When we arrived there were quite a few vacant tables and I gestured to a particular table to enjoy the view and impending dinner...it seems with great reluctance we were allowed our choice. I am sure her second job would have to be doling out lashes in her dominatrix gear. Lucky to get away with it we reckoned. A much friendlier waitress took the order and in a short while there was dinner on the table. Flavours were good, if not all a little pedestrian. Steak was tender and the salad not bad, curly fries ok, beer good, view great.
Way too expensive for what can only be described as mediocre food at best. Too many other good eateries at Honeysuckle before you would bother with this one...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing