We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evacuate Now!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chifley Executive Suites
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Evacuate Now!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Ever been woken up in the early hours with those words and bounced around in the dark of an unfamiliar room looking for your clothes? Took years off my life. Also noted was that once out in the hall it was hot enough to have been a fire in the building. No air con in hall. Guests streamed out via a couple of exits into the streets, and no effort made to corral or count them. Windows were locked in the room, were there a real fire, preventing alternate escape. Eventually a fireman at the switchbox told us it was a false alarm and we could go back into our rooms.

Air conditioning doesn't cover the rooms of the apartment well enough. Furniture cheap and scratchy. Shower takes some time to heat up. Parking an extra charge.

Reception roused on us for going into parking garage in the rain prior to presenting to them first. Sent us to the wrong room 1st, which was not made up and gave us a hard time about getting there early. Sigh.

Good things? Room size, Self contained, Location to wharf and Facade. But really expensive and poorly appointed when compared to a competing hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Chifley Executive Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear SteveS14,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read there was a false fire alarm activation during your recent stay. I do acknowledge how disconcerting they can be although, with the alarm activated and announcements made I am pleased to see that the system does what it was designed to do. Please rest assured there are procedures in place for managing such events however a count and muster does not occur once a false alarm has been confirmed.

I note your comments regarding parking prior to checking in and whilst it is possible to enter prior to check-in, it is preferrable, due to the complexities of acessing the lifts, locating the correct parking and navigating your way back to reception, that reception provide the somewhat detailed explanation of how and where to park before doing so.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences.

Kind regards

Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Executive Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    18
    15
    9
See reviews for
37
32
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rothbury, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We needed to find an apartment where our daughter could get ready for her wedding. The accomodation was fantastic. The view from the room was glorious. Jenny was extremely helpful which was greatly appreciated. I have no hesitation in recommending the appartments.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view room which was great. Be warned the tugs do make occasional noise, I slept thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Chifley Executive Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear msdizzy,

I am delighted to read that your recent stay at Chifley Executive Suites exceeded your expectations. Thank you for acknowledging the contribution Jenny made to your stay and thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards

Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Executive Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night we received very friendly service from the lady on reception. We asked if the unit had a sea view and were upgraded to a room with a view and what a view it was.

The bedrooms were of a good size with on suites. There was a roomy lounger but it only included one sofa which seed odd as it was two bedrooms. The kitchen was well appointed. Location is great and we had free street parking over night up till 9am. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gollumnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Chifley Executive Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear gollumnz,

Thank you for your recent review of Chifley Executive Suites. It is wonderful to read that you had such a positive experience. It is true there is ample free street parking in close proximity to the hotel between 5.00pm and 9.00am and this can save some additional expense if you are out and about each day. I hope that we can welcome you back when you next visit Newcastle.

kind regards

Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Executive Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a 2 bedroom apartment with harbour views. Very happy with our apartment, very modern and well appointed for families. Extremely comfortable beds. Amazing views over the harbor (although if you are a light sleeper the large clock chiming outside on the hour, every hour, may keep you awake!).

A big thank you to Jenny at reception was lovely and very easy to deal with.

There was only one minor downside - having to pay for parking in top of the nightly rate. However, given they were having problems with hot water during our stay we were given complimentary parking (and we didn't have to ask for this which was greatly appreciated).

We would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbor view are well worth the extra cost. Rooms on a higher floor are also preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Chifley Executive Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear SydneyMojo,

We are delighted you found the apartments well appointed and that you had some time to take in the spectacular view from your apartment. Please accept my apologies that there were problems with the hot water. I am pleased to read that the staff acted to resolve the situation in such a proactive manner. Thank you for recognising Jenny's efforts during your stay.

Kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Executive Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

On arrival for a long term stay most appliances were either not there or not working due to not being pluged in or tested. Grout still all over floor. The room flooded under carpet in my room and my work mates room. Fire alarm has gone off several times due to malfunction. Rooms are terrible design with lamps put with no power points,tables in front of drawers so you can't access them rooms with no windows. Rooms with bed dining kitchen lounge all in 1 room(apartment supposed to be more than 1 room for the price). The list goes on. Poor response to complaints management pretend to care but obviously don't. For $1000 per week we have now found other accommodation.
I have stayed in many hotels and apartments and although the Chiffley looks presentable it defiantly is not functional. A very frustrating stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becnrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at Chifley Executive Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear becnrus,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read about the numerous problems present with your apartment upon your arrival. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you raise. Clearly the apartment had not been inspected and was not suitable for occupation by guests. I acknowledge there were some initial teething problems in commissioning the newly built apartments. I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further with the aim of reolving this issue andacheiving a positive outcome. I can be contacted on (02)49104910.

Kind regards

Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Executive Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Recently I stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite at Chifley Executive Suites, Newcastle. It is a new property so there were teething issues. There was mould in both the bathroom and the second bedroom ceilings. The tiles in the bathroom were stained as if they hadn't been cleaned properly after they were laid. The suite also needed a good vaccum. There were incorrect instructions as to how to access Foxtel and the 70 channels boasted of was incorrect because half were blocked. There was not a broom or cleaner in the suite which was irritating as the suites are not serviced.
The view was lovely and the location convenient. The on site manager (Jenny) was also helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with 4 adults on a recent Saturday night. The unit was clean, well equipped and the view was wonderful BUT the noise was horrendous. None of us slept well and so would not stay here again. Be warned.
The on site managers were all pleasant and helpful and agreed the noise was an issue particularly on Wednesday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#18 of 22 in Newcastle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Executive Suites

Property: Chifley Executive Suites
Address: 111 Scott St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Executive Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing