We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Scratchley

Fort Scratchley
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Must see. great views. A lot of history to see.

Tour of the tunnel system is great the guides are very knowledgeable.

Go see and enjoy the history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank murfstar0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    194
    24
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OPEN Day”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we went to a free open day at the fort and experienced a fab day out with the kids they all loved it and they shot the cannons great

Helpful?
Thank janie2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Great loved it”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well worth a look if you like history, tour guides are very helpfull, free to get in, tour of the tunnels for a small fee but well worth it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustinC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing history tour!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love Fort Scratchley and remember visiting as a child. Fortunately, my fond childhood memories were not ruined by the tour we received! You can wander around the outside as much as you like, and then pay for a tour underground.
The tour guide was so friendly, humorous and knowledgable! It really excited my passion for local history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take a tour to get the best out of Fort Scratchley”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I took my niece to Fort Scratchley to learn about some of Newcastle's history and to check out the views.
The views are fabulous however I recommend you take an underground tour with one of the volunteers to get the most out of this historic site..
Our tour guide was Norm and he had some fabulous facts and fasinating stories to tell. Allow about an hour to an hour and a half for the underground tour depending on your guide.
A big thanks to Norm for bringing the place to life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Scratchley also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Fort Scratchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing