We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing history tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Scratchley

Fort Scratchley
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing history tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love Fort Scratchley and remember visiting as a child. Fortunately, my fond childhood memories were not ruined by the tour we received! You can wander around the outside as much as you like, and then pay for a tour underground.
The tour guide was so friendly, humorous and knowledgable! It really excited my passion for local history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    194
    24
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take a tour to get the best out of Fort Scratchley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I took my niece to Fort Scratchley to learn about some of Newcastle's history and to check out the views.
The views are fabulous however I recommend you take an underground tour with one of the volunteers to get the most out of this historic site..
Our tour guide was Norm and he had some fabulous facts and fasinating stories to tell. Allow about an hour to an hour and a half for the underground tour depending on your guide.
A big thanks to Norm for bringing the place to life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

You'll be surprised at how much you will learn about WWII and how far south the submarines, planes and ships of our enemies made it. Fort Scratchley is one of the few sights at which the cannons were fired!! So do yourself (and the kids) a favour and go check it out... It's clean, well-maintained and informative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjulieishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

come and have a look at Newcastle's historic Fort Scratchley, you won't be disappointed, hear the guns go off. it's easy walking

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank owl245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent tours of historical site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The fort was well maintained, had wonderful views, and the staff were all very interested to tell you anything you wanted to know. Went on the tunnel tour - very informative - went for over 1.5 hours, much longer than the advertised 45 minutes - was full of great information and enthusiasm. Had a really nice time visiting the fort!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Scratchley also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Fort Scratchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing