We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views but fort was bare”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Scratchley

Fort Scratchley
Ranked #4 of 77 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic views but fort was bare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We arrived just in time for the last tour of the day but were put off by the $12 per person for the tunnel tour so we decided to wander around for free. There were many signs to indicate what each building was used for, which was great, however a lot of the buildings were closed when we were there and those that were open were bare. Perhaps a little more detail or even some furniture to show how the rooms would have been used would be great.
Nevertheless we did learn a great deal about how the fort was used in world war two and the views surrounding it were stunning. It's a great place to visit in Newcastle.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    194
    24
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY N.S.W.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Entry into sight is free took a walk around the grounds spectacular views 360de a small tastes. Of what's to come in the gate house if you take the tour 1 1/2 hours so much more to learn about our history of world war 2 would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank wrightontrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Remnants of the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Unfortunately we missed the guided tunnel walk but thoroughly enjoyed wandering around this historic site; worth visiting even for the spectacular views. And it's FREE.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Mildly interesting, great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not very developed as a tourist attraction, but the ocean views are spectacular from the fort. Good stepping off point for our walk to the Newcastle baths

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good if your interested and know a bit about its history.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Free entry and great views combine with the history of the site.
The guided tour of the tunnels is very good value $12, and takes 1-1HR30, so i'd say only do it if you want an in depth history lesson of the site!

Helpful?
Thank joesco007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Scratchley also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Fort Scratchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing