We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold mains” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sprout Dining

Sprout Dining
Reserve with
Sprout Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 553 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cold mains”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

unfortunately i had went to this restaurant with 8 of my friends the other night for my birthday dinner.. Entrees were fine and hot... But all out 8 mains were cold. We complained and so they reserved the meals, now on a hot plate (as they hadnt the first time). The food was still cold.. We were all staring by then (slow service), so we just picked at the vegetables.... We werent charged for 4 of the mains.. That was their compensation...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosa6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    58
    32
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Nsw
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The last time I reviewed this restaurant my comment was "excellent". This time, there was something lacking with both the food and the service. My entree of scallops and taleggio souffle was very nice but only two scallops and no hint of taleggio in the soufflé. Salmon for main was cooked perfectly to medium rare however the accompanying veges overtook the taste of the salmon and there was no zucchini flower as per the menu. Was OK but not outstanding. Contrary to some other reviews I think the wine list at Sprout is excellent and very well priced. We ordered a bottle between four of us. When the bottle was finished the waitress promptly took our glasses away - no offer of another bottle/glass! The atmosphere was bland and our Sydney guests had trouble finding the restaurant as the sign is hidden behind a hedge. I will try Sprout again in the hope that we just went on an off day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CathandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The food was to die for.... the pate and scallops won hands down for entree, and duck and lamb were amazing for mains. But $15 corkage, rank female toilets which smelled like a festival, and average staff were a let down. Could have been so much better!

Helpful?
Thank Mereki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merewether Heights
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

First visit with friends. Shared 2 entrees - a cauliflower cappuccino (soup) and scallops thinly sliced. Totally agree with previous reviewers- these are decent serving sizes. Entrees at around $15. Scallops were beautiful... However I do think that there was too much going on in the accompanying bruschetta et al. Cauliflower was fantastic texture. Perhaps too salty overall but we are people who don't eat much salt... Mains were around $30. Crusted salmon perfectly cooked. Yet again I thought the accompaniment ( one tomato based w herbs the other a zucchini cream?? ) didn't match up losing individual flavour. The chicken galantine looked lovely... And great textures. But again was thought too salty. BUT FOLKS the dessert - a lavender parfait with berry sorbet and berries. Fantastic. 14. Tepid flat white a crime by comparison. Leaf teas would be the better go. Around $5.
We had wine by the glass - lovely sparkler at $8 from tassie. Great service - personality and politeness. Sally is a gem. Will go back. PS it is a little hard to find, unassuming signage, and not on the main drag. But worth the look.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acc_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Won't be back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A friend and I had a catch up lunch, how disappointing. Started with a strawberry/lime mocktail which was perfect followed by an entree, cod, pea & asparagus risotto...inedible as it was laced with tabasco sauce (not mentioned on the menu). Our other entree we chose was seafood fettuccine, again inedible. Just tasted extremely bland. We complained in a nice manner about our meals & told we could choose something else from the menu. But we said that it was ok (not wanting to make a fuss). She then unprofessionally proceeded to pull faces & carried on with another member of staff regarding our complaint. I’ve never been treated at any restaurant in the manner we had been treated at Sprout. Limited menu but nice decor. There are so many lovely restaurant/cafes in Newcastle at the moment why this one is rated so highly beats me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cobba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprout Dining also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Sprout Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing