We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sunday afternoons”
Review of Sprout Dining

Sprout Dining
Reserve with
Sprout Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing Sunday afternoons”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We're yet to have a bad dining experience at Sprout. On a sunny day, the bright and airy space makes it the perfect place for a lazy long lunch.

The menu regularly changes to make use of seasonal ingredients and always provides plenty of choices. Both the gnocchi and the zucchini flowers were excellent entrees today.

The mains were well cooked but had too many components that didn't really work together. They could be stripped back to include fewer ingredients and focus on flavours that are better matched.

The service is smart and professional. The wine list is interesting and well priced though we love that you can BYO.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearyStDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food but limited menu”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a very nice meal here, food is very fresh and different, I did find it difficult to choose as the menu was limited. We thought the wine was overpriced, but overall had a very nice meal, would go back again but would try and see what was on menu first.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanandjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dining at Sprouts”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Searching for a restaurant in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle we came across Sprout Dining. The restaurant was fully booked for Saturday night, but they were able to accomodate us for dinner at 6.00pm. The food is 10 out of 10. The dining experience is different style foods from most Restaurants in the area. The staff were extremely polite and service - impeccable. You will need to pre book for Saturday evening dining. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussieoldie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not tonight!.. Maybe worth another try.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to Sprout based on reviews and recommendations by friends, but unfortunately our experience did not live up to either. Good service, but the food was a mish-mash of flavours, components and textures that did not work. The food is reasonably priced, but the same cannot be said for the wines. Better to pay the also overpriced $15 corkage and bring your own. We may have chosen the wrong dishes or the wrong night; so I will probably give Sprout one more chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good dining if you can find it”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food and service were excellent. The only problem was finding the place. We arrived in the evening and not knowing the area we had to wander around a while and ask at the gym up the road. The restaurant is a bit away from most of the restaurants in the Honeysuckle precinct and is not well lit so it is difficult to spot it in the dark..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprout Dining also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Sprout Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing