We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good as I remember.”
Review of Verde Luna

Verde Luna
Ranked #134 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a good as I remember.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Came to the restaurant for a birthday, 3 families.
The food was nice, nothing amazing.
My main problem, was we arrived at 6pm, and didn't leave until 8.30pm. Normally fine, except we had 3 yo and 5 yo who were hungry.
The mains didn't arrive until 7.45...

The staff was helpful and friendly, just not switched on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    57
    21
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed for first time visit. Will we go back. Not sure yet.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed with the first visit after hearing good reports from friends and with table of 7 guests came away thinking not wanting go back. I am very open minded about any restaurant but we booked for early table 6pm and was completely rushed from staff from beginning. It became busy very quickly. Some staff ok but one member was rude. Meals was average in servings Vs menu costs. Certainly better value for money Italian restaurants around.

Will I go back ? Not sure ..........

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisinnewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and plenty of it.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our favourite local. Consistently good food and never leave hungry. Staff friendly and helpful. Can be a little noisy but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EndlessDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good unpretentious food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Plenty of food, good service, well patronised, somewhat noisy.
In true Italian style, this is not for those on diets or averse to olive oil!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Equanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food & sooo noisey!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited Verde Luna tonight as have driven past it many times and seen that it is always busy and have heard good things.
Having now eaten here i'm pretty clueless as to its popularity! The first thing that hits you when entering is the noise! OK, its a Saturday night, its a family restaurant and people are having a good time but seriously, this is the noisiest restuarant we have ever eaten in. We had to shout to hear each other throughout the meal!
The food was all very average which would be fine if they were charging average prices but for 2 starters, mains and a bottle of wine we were charged well over $100! I am happy to pay this for a quality meal but this was not!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Luna also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Verde Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing