We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustica

Rustica
Reserve with
Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To die for”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food has been amazing every time I visit ... cannot wait to go back the Confit Duck Maryland is cooked to perfection.... I try a different desert each time

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jesska22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    176
    72
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but feel it is over-rated”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

For a restaurant with lots of waiters and waitresses moving about, the wait service was a little slow. The food was very average. The clutter and noise made it hard to talk to my husband and have a nice conversation. We may try a lunch time dining experience one day, but won't be back for an evening one. Then to have to go outside in the cold and the rain and downstairs to the restrooms, not a place I could take a family member with a walking difficulty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emeldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sort of rustic, but great food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The decor tries to be rustic, but a little eclectic. However the food really hits the mark. The baked oysters were fantastic, the steak cooked to perfection (medium rare) as was the tasty chicken dish. Two of our party had the lamb shared plate, and it was both plentiful and magnificent. The flavours and the vegetables also went a bit further making each meal special. Well recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food and Views”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food at Rustica has never disappointed and neither does the views. Service can be a little slow and it can be difficult to get the wait staffs attention. This is disappointing as everything else is top notch. I have experienced this on a number of occasions. I will still go back for the food and views.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The customer service was fantastic, the food was cooked to perfection and the steak was exactly what we ordered which was rare! You don't get that often in a restaurant! Well done kitchen! The waitress was spot on with providing amazing service without being overtop. Overall a really enjoyable night, will definitely recommend to friends and will come back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanathompson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustica also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing